Jera’s Jamboree : The Evans Trilogy ~ guest Jennifer Collin

JJ is welcoming Jennifer Collin today.

Author photo

Jennifer Collin is an independent author based in Brisbane, the capital city of Queensland, the Sunshine State of Australia. She squeezes novel writing in around her day job, looking after her two daughters and hanging out with her husband. Her books include Set Me Free and Open My Eyes, Books 1 and 2 of the Evans Trilogy. She is currently working on the third book in the series, and hopes to release it in early 2015.

You can connect with Jennifer on Twitter https://twitter.com/CollinJennifer, Facebook https://www.facebook.com/JenniferCollinAuthorPage?ref=hl, Goodreads https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7105090.Jennifer_Collin or Pinterest http://www.pinterest.com/jycolli/. You can also find out more by following her blog http://jennifercollin.blogspot.com.au/ and visiting her website http://www.jennifercollin.com/.

Blog-Background-20111-003

Thanks for having me in at Jera’s Jamboree, Shaz! I’m so looking forward to my tour with Fiction Addiction to promote my second book baby, Open My Eyes.

Open My Eyes was released about six weeks ago and has been sitting comfortably in the Top 100 Romantic Comedy rankings on Amazon UK ever since. It is the second book in the Evans Trilogy. While it picks up where its predecessor, Set Me Free, left off, it stands alone in its own right and you don’t need to have read Set Me Free to follow Open My Eyes.

Open My Eyes tells the story of the middle child in the Evans family, Emily.  Emily is someone who has always allowed other people take care of her. Her successful career as an artist has been supported by her sister’s art gallery and her husband’s paycheque. But when she catches her husband cheating, Emily decides it’s time to stand on her own two feet, which is easier said than done though, especially when she’s so out of practise. Some of the mistakes she makes are small, but others are huge, like sleeping with her sister’s best friend and getting pregnant.

Her sister’s best friend is Ben Cameron, barista extraordinaire and owner of the popular Bean Drinkin’ café. Ben has been secretly in love with Emily from the moment he first laid eyes on her. Blown away by his luck the night she seduces him, Ben makes a mistake of his own, and tells Emily how he feels. He is destroyed when she runs away and though it takes time, he eventually resolves to forget about her and move on.

Open My Eyes isn’t just about learning from your mistakes and moving forward. It’s also about being able to see what is right in front of you, being able to clear away the white noise of uncertainty and insecurity and find the courage to recognise and go after what you really want.

The idea to do a trilogy came to me when I was halfway through Set Me Free and I realised I couldn’t do Emily’s story justice by trying to wrap it up at the end of that novel.  I had become so invested in her character, that I wanted to be sure she got out of the mess she’d found herself in. And to get there, she had a bit of a journey to go on.

Reviewers have described Open My Eyes as ‘superbly brilliant’ and are calling out for Book 3 in the trilogy. The seeds for Book 3 are planted in Open My Eyes as a sub-plot involving Emily’s younger brother Andy and her flatmate Annie.  Annie is one of my favourite characters in the series, and I can’t wait to share more of her with you.  I also thoroughly enjoyed creating the character of Bridget, Ben’s straight-talking, no-nonsense sister-in-law.

In celebration of International Chick Lit Month, both Open My Eyes and Set Me Free are on sale on Amazon until the end of May. I hope you enjoy reading them as much as I enjoyed writing them.

Thanks for sharing with my blog readers today Jennifer.

Open My EyesEverything happens for a reason, they say. And sometimes the reason is you’re stupid and make bad decisions.  Sleeping with her sister’s best friend is one of the dumbest things soon-to-be divorcee Emily Evans has ever done.  But she’s determined to put it behind her and move on.  She’s walked away from her cheating husband, managed to make a new friend, and found herself a real job and somewhere to live so she doesn’t have to couch-surf any more.  Everything should be falling into place but for one problem – there are some mistakes from which you can’t move on.

Meanwhile, Ben Cameron is getting on with his life.  After all, it’s the only thing to do once your heart has been stomped on by the woman of your dreams.  Expanding his business and getting cosy with the girl next door are proving welcome distractions.  He’s even happy to babysit his nephew, as long as he can to hand him back when he’s done!   And thankfully, Emily Evans, the woman with the heavy boots, is avoiding him like the plague.

But Emily can’t avoid him forever, and when she drops a bombshell that turns Ben’s world upside-down, suddenly, getting on with his life takes on a whole new meaning.

|  Amazon Kindle UK |  Amazon Kindle US  |  Goodreads  |

Open My Eyes is going on tour!

Open My Eyes Tour Banner

Date Tour Information
9th June Have Book Will Read
10th June Me, Bookshelf and I
  Curling up with a Good Book
11th June Chicklit Club Connect
16th June Tracy Riva Books and Reviews
17th June Books are my life

The giveaway on tour is an ecopy of Set Me Free, ecopy of Open My Eyes and £15/$25 Amazon Gift Card.  You will be able to enter on tour hosts posts so don’t forget to check them out.

We hope you’ll join in the fun!

3 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree : The Evans Trilogy ~ guest Jennifer Collin

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

