Jera’s Jamboree : Author Interview Angela Britnell

JJ is delighted to welcome Angela today.

Angela_author picture RD

Angela grew up in Cornwall and returns frequently from her new home in Tennessee to visit family and friends. A lifelong love of reading turned into a passion for writing contemporary romance. Her novels are usually set in places she’s visited or lived on her extensive travels.

Website

Twitter @AngelaBritnell

Facebook

Blog-Background-20111-006

Hi Angela, welcome to JJ

Please summarise Sugar and Spice in 20 words or less.

A celebrity chef and a man disinterested in food could never be the perfect recipe for love – could they?

What was the idea/inspiration for your novel?

I’m borderline obsessed with the Food Network and have my favourite celebrity chefs I watch all the time so the idea grew from there. I wondered if any of them question how far they’ve come from being someone who simply loved to cook. I’d describe ‘Sugar and Spice’ celebrity chef ‘Luscious Lily’ as a red-headed, Southern version of Nigella with a touch of Dolly Parton thrown in for good measure!

What inspired you to write?

I’ve always been a voracious reader and English was my favourite subject in school. I didn’t do any writing after that until around 2000 when I took a series of creative writing evening classes at a nearby recreation centre. I honestly did it to have a break from the testosterone flooding around my house – with a husband and three adorable sons I needed it! The teacher was inspiring and I was soon hooked, starting off with short stories and going from there.

 

Which authors have influenced your writing?

I read widely and am always drawn to a story that captures my interest from the very beginning with characters I care about. A few of my favourite authors are Joanna Trollope, Kristin Hannah and of course Nora Roberts. For sparkling dialogue though it has to be Jane Austen, you can say so much with a hint of humour and the right words. Although I don’t write mysteries I read a lot in that genre and admire PD James, Ian Rankin and Elizabeth George.

Do you have a favourite book? Why?  What is it about that book?

Probably my all time favourite book is ‘The Rector’s Wife’ by Joanna Trollope. I’ve reread it many times and had to buy a new copy when I wore the first one out. It’s set in the same kind of a small English village where I grew up and as the title suggests it is the story of a rector’s wife who rails against the constraints of her marriage and her assigned place in village life. It’s wonderfully written and full of great characters that will stay with you long after you finish the story.

What has been the best part of your writing journey so far?

Discovering a passion for something I never expected to do and get such pleasure from it. I’d also have to include all the wonderful friends I’ve made along the way and the thrill of seeing my name on my first book.

What tips do you have for other aspiring writers?

To find other writers to connect with either in person or online. Study your craft through how-to books, workshops, conferences etc. But the most important thing is never to lose sight of why you got into writing in the first place – for the joy of putting down the story you have inside you.

Finally Angela, what are you working on now?

I’ve just submitted another full length novel to my publisher so have my fingers crossed they’ll love it! The hero of ‘No Accounting for Love’ is the delectable Nathaniel, a straight-laced accountant and oddball of his hippy family. When he meets Daisy, a children’s book illustrator, neither of them should fancy the other but we all know there’s no accounting for love.

Thank you!  Wishing you success in all your writing projects.

S&S_packshot copyThe Way to a Hero’s Heart …

Fiery, workaholic Lily Redman is sure of two things: that she knows good food and that she always gets what she wants. And what she wants more than anything is to make a success of her new American TV show, Celebrity Chef Swap – without the help of her cheating ex-fiancé and producer, Patrick O’Brien. So when she arrives in Cornwall, she’s determined to do just that.

Kenan Rowse is definitely not looking for love. Back from a military stint in Afghanistan and recovering from a messy divorce and an even messier past, the last thing he needs is another complication. So when he lands a temporary job as Luscious Lily’s driver, he’s none too pleased to find that they can’t keep their hands off each other!

But trudging around Cornish farms, knee deep in mud, and meetings with egotistical chefs was never going to be the perfect recipe for love – was it? And Lily could never fall for a man so disinterested in food – could she?

|  Choc Lit  |  Amazon Paperback  |  Amazon Kindle  |  Goodreads  |

11 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree : Author Interview Angela Britnell

  1. Sugar and Spice is indeed luscious 🙂 Lily is great fun and Jago a perfect brooding hero! I loved it. xx

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

