Jera’s Jamboree : Alpha Male Romans and History ~ a guest post by Caroline Storer

I’m delighted to be welcoming Caroline to JJ today.

Caroline

I’ve always been a dreamer, thinking up plots for books ever since I was a child.  I actually started writing my first book in 2007, when my husband “popped out for a bit” on New Year’s day and returned home about three hours later with a laptop he’d bought for me in the January sales.  I remember him plonking it down on my lap and saying, “Now you’ve got no excuse.  Start writing that book you’ve been going on about!”

 You can find me on my blog at – http://carolinestorer.blogspot.co.uk/

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/caroline.storer.50?ref=tn_tnmn

Twitter – https://twitter.com/CarolineStorer6

Blog-Background-20111-003

Hi, thank you so much for having me on Jera’s Jamboree.   Just a little about me.  I live on the beautiful (if slightly windy) island of Anglesey just off the North Wales coast.  I’m happily married to my own Alpha Hero, Colin, and I have one step-son and one grandson.  By day I’m an Environmental Health Officer for the local Council.  My work can be quite challenging to say the least, and no one day is the same.  I find escaping into a good book, (either reading or writing one), a great way of relaxing once I’ve finished work.  I am a voracious reader of anything “romantic”, but I especially love historical romances.

When I mentioned to friends, and family, that I had written a Roman romance a lot of people asked that age old question, “where do you get your story ideas from?”  Well, in all honesty, I can pretty much sum up my inspiration in one sentence – General Maximus Decimus Meridius – a.k.a Russell Crowe in The Gladiator.  I’ve watched this film about 10 tens now, and I’m still bowled over by his gorgeousness!  He is the typical alpha male Roman hero IMHO.

Russell Crowe

But then I thought a little more about why I chose to write a Roman historical, and whilst I can say that Maximus is definitely my hero inspiration, I’ve also had a long love affair with Roman history that goes back to childhood.  I can remember reading books at school on the subject, and doing a history project about Vesuvius, and learning how Pompeii and Herculaneum were lost under the lava flow.  To this day, I’ve long hungered to visit the ruins and see them for myself.

But as well as a love of Roman history, I also remember watching a lot of films when I was a teenager that were set in the Roman era.  One film that I particularly enjoyed was Ben Hur, staring Charlton Heston as Judah Ben-Hur.  Anyone who’s seen the film, will remember the iconic chariot race in which they race around the Circus Maximus in their four horse chariots.  It hardly comes as a surprise to know that the hero in my debut novel – The Roman – is Marsallas, a charioteer in the Circus Maximus!

Book Two

I had great fun in creating this character, and along with Justina, the heroine, I sometimes felt that I was actually there in Rome with them, living their lives.  And that’s because of the research you have to do when you write a historical romance.  There is an awful lot to learn and absorb.  What they ate, what they wore, how they spoke, the Gods they worshipped, where they lived, the social strata of Roman life, everything that was normal to them at the time.  And although it is the developing relationship between the hero and heroine that is central to any historical romance, you still have to sprinkle in relevant historical accuracy.

“The Roman” is my debut book for HarperImpulse.  When I first saw the cover for my book, I nearly swooned in delight.  He’s absolutely gorgeous and just what I imagined my hunky Roman hero, Marsallas, would look like.  I hope you agree.

Master Roman jpeg

I’m currently in the process of editing my next book for HarperImpulse.  Again, it’s another Roman romance.  I’m hoping it will be out later this year.

You’re not the only one swooning over The Roman cover Caroline 🙂

Thank you for sharing your inspiration with us.

The Roman Tour Banner

The Roman is going on tour with Fiction Addiction Book Tours and will be sharing some swoon-worthy excerpts too!

Date

Tour Host

12th May Brook Cottage Books
13th May Tracy Riva Books and Reviews
14th May The Book Corner
15th May Everything Books and Authors
Rachel Brimble Romance
16th May Salon Reads
Girl meets Books
19th May Inheritance Books with Rhoda Baxter
Victoria’s Pages of Romance
20th May jgrwriter
21st May Cometbabesbooks
22nd May Sylv Jenkins
23rd May allthingsbookie

You can enter the International giveaway on tour by answering a question on tour host posts.

Swag up for grabs:

20140306_171353

2 x A4 notebooks
1 x A5 notebook
1 x A6 notebook
A pack of pens
A box of notelets and envelopes
A copy of Stephen King’s “On Writing”

We’ll hope you’ll join in the fun!

2 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree : Alpha Male Romans and History ~ a guest post by Caroline Storer

  1. Thanks for having me on your fabulous blog. I must admit when I first saw my cover I squealed in delight. I’ve got him on the wall of my bedroom too. Thankfully my hubby is not the jealous type! Caroline xx.

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

