Jera’s Jamboree : Author Interview Talli Roland

With today being the re-launch of Talli’s The Pollyanna Plan, I’m delighted to welcome Talli to JJ.

Photo courtesy of author

Photo courtesy of author

Talli lives in London, UK, where she savours the great cultural life (wine and coffee).

When not hunched over the keyboard or staring out the window, she drinks coffee. And wine.

Website

Blog 

Twitter @TalliRoland

Facebook Author Page

Blog-Background-20111-006

Hi Talli, great to have you back on JJ

Please summarise The Pollyanna Plan in 20 words or less.

 Emma Beckett has always looked down on optimists, but when her world falls apart , she decides to behave like Pollyanna.

What was the idea/inspiration for your novel?

As a former athlete, the power of positive thinking was drilled into me. I wanted to show positive thinking can make a difference by applying that philosophy to a habitually negative woman, and demonstrate how her perspective changes her life.

Do you have a most creative time of day?

I am most definitely a morning person . . . after several cups of coffee! I try to get the bulk of my writing done before noon. I tend to stress if it’s not, because my mind works so much slower in the afternoon.  And come evening, it’s wine o’clock (of course!) and there’s no way I’d try to write after alcohol.

Do you have a favourite book? Why?  What is it about that book?

I love the novel Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld, because it so accurately captures all the angst and self-consciousness of a teen in minute detail, while also managing to be a compelling and engaging read. (scuttling off to add to wish list)

What are you reading now? Opinion?

I just finished Watching Over You, a psychological thriller by Mel Sherratt. It’s super scary but I just couldn’t stop reading. Word of warning: don’t read it before bedtime! Or if you do, keep the light on.

Are there any self-publishing tips you could share with new writers that have worked well for you?

As someone who has both traditionally published and self-published, I think I’ve experienced the best of both worlds. My top tip for those thinking of self-publishing is to be professional. Hire an editor and a cover designer if you can, and treat your venture like a business. It’s fine to engage in promotion, but don’t overdo it.

 Being a writer can be lonely.  Do you have a support network?

Yes, and it’s called Twitter! There’s a great group of writers and readers on Twitter, and at any given moment, they’re around to provide support and encouragement. Social media can be a tool to procrastinate, but it can also provide a good laugh and a bit of fun in a lonely day.

 What has been the best part of your writing journey so far?

The best part has definitely been hearing from readers who’ve enjoyed my novels. Writing can be such a slog – and so personal, too – and it’s heartening when people take the time to tell you they’ve enjoyed your blood, sweat and tears! It sounds a cliché, but it really does make the struggle worth it.

What has been the worst part of your writing journey so far?

On the flip side, the worst part has been reading negative reviews. I’m of the opinion that every reader has the right to their opinion, but that doesn’t make reading such reviews any easier. I’ve realised now that I can’t please everyone, but it still hurts.

What tips do you have for other aspiring writers?

Writing can be such a solitary thing, and I wish someone had told me how wonderful writing groups and organisations can be. I joined the Romantic Novelists’ Association a few years after I started writing full-time, and it’s been a fantastic support network.

Thanks Talli. Have to agree with you about Twitter.  I’ve also really enjoyed meeting face-to-face  authors/readers I’ve chatted with through Twitter.

Wishing you success with the re-launch of The Polyanna Plan.

The Pollyana Plan - new 2Is finding true love as easy as an attitude change?
Thirty-something Emma Beckett has always looked down on ‘the glass is half full’ optimists, believing it’s better to be realistic than delusional. But when she loses her high-powered job and fiancé in the same week, even Emma has difficulty keeping calm and carrying on.

With her world spinning out of control and bolstered by a challenge from her best friend, Emma makes a radical decision. From here on in, she’ll behave like Pollyanna: attempting to always see the upside, no matter how dire the situation.

Can adopting a positive attitude give Emma the courage to build a new life, or is finding the good in everything a very bad idea?

17 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree : Author Interview Talli Roland

  1. I bought and read two of Talli’s novels, and I finished both within a few days because they really were that engrossing. So I’m sure this book is good too! 🙂 And I agree with what Talli said about Twitter; I love logging on and reading what people have to say. Twitter makes the daily grind that much easier when I can mock the daily grind by Tweeting about it.

    P.S. I put down an e-mail address I don’t use anymore in the required line, because whenever I put my real e-mail address or blog address in the blanks below, my comment logs into my e-mail account for some reason, which means anyone can access my e-mail.

  2. I love Talli’s books! Congrats on the Pollyanna plan, the cover is so, so great. Can’t wait to get stuck in!! Wooohoo! And apologies for being late to the party, my life is not my own right now, it seems. Still–rock on! XX

  3. I can’t imagine anyone leaving a negative review about one of Talli’s books! I loved all the ones I’ve read so far and have several more queued up in my Kindle. I recently finished the Pollyanna Plan and thought it was great. Keep the stories coming!!!!

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

