Jera’s Jamboree : Author Interview Tilly Tennant

I’m delighted to welcoming debut author, Tilly Tennant, to Jera’s Jamboree today

Tilly Tennant

Tilly Tennant was born in Dorset but now lives in Staffordshire with her slightly nutty family. Tilly is married to Mr Tennant (not that one, though a girl can dream). After years of dismal and disastrous jobs, including paper plate stacking, shop girl, newspaper promotions and waitressing (she never could carry a bowl of soup without spilling a bit), she decided to indulge her passion for the written word by enrolling on a degree in English and creative writing. She wrote her first novel in 2007 during her first summer break at university and has not stopped writing since. She also works as a freelance editor, and considers herself very lucky that this enables her to read many wonderful books while getting paid for it.

 Tilly Tennant on Twitter: https://twitter.com/TillyTenWriter

Tilly’s facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/TillyTennant?ref=hl

Tilly’s blog: http://tillytennant.com/

Holden Finn on Twitter : https://twitter.com/HoldenFinn

Blog-Background-20111-006

Hi Tilly,

Please summarise Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn in 20 words or less.

 Imagine if all your daydreams about your celebrity crush became real. You might not get quite what you expected!

 What was the idea/inspiration for your novel?

Just like everyone else, I’ve often wondered what would happen if a celebrity I was mad about decided they were mad about me too.  One day I just imagined this mum and her daughter both fancying the same pop star. In fact, it was one particular pop star but I’m not allowed to say who it is!  I think that there would always be an imbalance in such an unlikely relationship, however, unless you’re an incredibly strong willed individual. I’m not but luckily Bonnie is!

If you could choose to be one of your characters which would you be? and why?

I’d say Bonnie but she’s always broke and gets messed around terribly by the men in her life, so I’m not sure she’d be much fun, even though I love her. I might have to say Holden. He’s a super famous, rich, good looking, YOUNG popstar. What can possibly be bad about any of that!

Did you do any research for your book?

I didn’t do a huge amount of research apart from checking some facts about the ins and outs of ambulance crews and patient rights (spoiler alert?). However, I think I might have been researching this book without meaning to all my life! I’ve been to hundreds of music gigs and concerts, and I have had an outrageous number of celebrity crushes over the years, with plenty of backstage stalking attempts. I think I’m fairly well qualified to write this story!

Do you have a most creative time of day?

Definitely midday to late afternoon.  I’m useless first thing in a morning and my brain doesn’t wake until around 11am. Unfortunately, I’m usually at my desk doing my day j0b at my best time, so I’ve learned to work in the evening. It takes that much longer to eke the creativity from my tired brain but I get there in the end!

Do you have a favourite place you go to for inspiration or a favourite activity?

I like to sit at my table with my laptop and stare out of the window until inspiration strikes. As you can imagine, my bum is very flat by now.

Do you have a theme for your book covers?  Who designs them?

This particular cover is my first one but it’s beautiful. I really couldn’t be happier with it. So as far as themes go, I’m not sure yet. It was done by a lady named Tash Webber and I think she’s a genius.

How do your characters come into existence?  Do they have a bio?

They very often tend to spring into existence fully formed in my head. I have a good idea straightaway what sort of people they are and their background. I make notes about them but not particularly a bio. I’m barely capable of writing one of those for myself!

Being a writer can be lonely.  Do you have a support network?

There is a fantastic writer support network on twitter and I am lucky that they have taken me under their wing!  I have also been lucky enough to meet lots of them in person which has strengthened our friendships. I also have lots of good friends from my time at university who support me.

What has been the best part of your writing journey so far?

Absolutely has to be the phone call from my agent to speak this sentence: ‘We’d like to welcome you to LAW.’  I’ll never forget that, and as I was at work at the time and might have squealed a bit, I don’t think my colleagues will either!

Thank you for being in the hot seat today Tilly 🙂

Hopelessly DevotedThere’s only one man for Bonnie, and that’s Holden Finn.

The problem is that Holden Finn is a twenty-three-year-old pop megastar with his boy band, Every Which Way, and has no idea she exists. Not only that, but half the women in the world want to be Mrs Finn, including Bonnie’s teenage daughter, Paige. The real men in Bonnie’s life do nothing but let her down, but a man you can’t possibly have can never do that… right?

Then Paige wins a radio competition to meet Holden and the band, and Bonnie’s carefully-constructed world starts to unravel. She is about to find out that you should be very, very careful what you wish for …

I loved this book. Tilly Tennant has an amazing gift for story-telling and I’m sure we’re going to see great things from her in the future. Holly Martin (author of The Guestbook and The Sentinel)

Charming, sweet, laugh-out-loud funny and absolutely unputdownable. Victoria Loves Books

Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn is going on tour with Fiction Addiction Book Tours!

HDTHF TB

Date

Tour Information

24th February Cosmochicklitan
25th February @jaustenrulesok
26th February Shaz’s Book Blog
27th February This Chick Reads
28th February Books with Bree
2nd March Rhoda Baxter
3rd March Been There, Read That, Reviewed The Book
4th March MissBookworm Reviews
5th March Nocturnal Predators Reviews
6th March Me, Bookshelf and I
7th March Tracy Riva Books and Reviews

The giveaway on tour is paperback copy of Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn PLUS £15/$25 Amazon Gift Card.

We hope you’ll join in the fun!

8 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree : Author Interview Tilly Tennant

  1. Pingback: Jera’s Jamboree : Author Interview Tilly Tennant | Tilly Tennant, Author

  2. I empathise with the late brain syndrome, Tilly. My excuse is that everyone else in the house is a late starter. This sounds right up my street. Love the cover. Best of luck, sweetie. You’re in good hands with Fiction Addiction. 🙂 xx

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

