Jera’s Jamboree : Feature Post Mary E Coen ~ The Triple Goddess

I’m delighted to be hosting Mary E Coen on Jera’s Jamboree today.

Mary E. Coen, author

Living in Ireland, Mary Elizabeth Coen is a former Home Economics teacher and lifestyle journalist.
Though she always dreamed of being a writer, Mary Elizabeth took a rather circuitous route getting there. You could say she has had several incarnations in this lifetime from Home Economics teacher to Fashion Editor of a magazine, along with being mother to three wonderful children, Mark, Janet and Emily. Due to demand from clients she opened her own PR consultancy firm specializing in fashion; – the dream job for a fashionista, availing of great discounts on wonderful shoes and vintage clothing.

Unfortunately the five inch stilettos had to go when Mary’s health deteriorated and she received a diagnosis of fibromyalgia. Work too, had to take a back seat as Mary sought to maintain optimum health and became interested in holistic medicine and personal development. In the process, she developed a passion for mythology, philosophy and the study of ancient spiritual traditions. As a spiritual seeker, she travelled to Mayan sites in Mexico, visited a famous healer’s ashram in Brazil and undertook a shamanic journey through Peru.  Mary’s book Love & the Goddess is based on her travels.

Mary is now in robust good health, working as a full-time author and stress management lecturer, while also running a website called Goddess MECA. The acronym is for Mary Elizabeth Coen Assists the Goddess in everywoman through sharing her love of cookery fashion and mythology. Mary brings her experience from teaching, using tools that are practical and easily integrated into every day busy lives. Her clients range from private individuals, to SMEs, to large organisations and bodies.

 Website

 Blog

Facebook

Twitter @goddessmeca

Pinterest

Amazon Page

Goodreads

Blog-Background-20111-003

The Goddess in all Women – online dating and the Goddess

In writing my book Love & the Goddess, I hoped to write a book that would inspire women to get in touch with their inner goddess. I could have chosen to write a self- help book but instead felt I would reach a broader age group through telling an entertaining story peppered with a little wisdom and knowledge.  This week I received a tweet that made me very happy:-

@goddessmeca Your book deserves to be there. The last time a book resonated so well with us it was “The Alchemist”. Finding our Goddess!

Love & the Goddess deals with the search for love and the nature of love itself. Spurred on by her interest in Greek mythology, my protagonist Kate uses the names of three goddesses from a Greek myth (The Triple Goddess) at various stages throughout the story. To get an understanding of how the dating game works, I did the research by first employing the username Persephone on plentyoffish.com, then Demeter on anotherfriend.com and finally Hekate on match.com

I got quite addicted to it initially and was surprised at the variety of men available. I quickly learnt that the username you use says a lot about you and therefore attracts certain types of men. It’s amazing how many women use variations of ‘Thumbelina’, the tiny fairy girl from the Christian Anderson story. For men, variations of James Bond or James 007 were probably among the most popular and also a marker for the most immature, delusional type possible, causing me to promptly hit the delete button.

In the beginning, I attracted macho domineering men while using the name Persephone, the maiden aspect of the triple goddess myth. Like the name Thumbelina, it exudes an aura of vulnerability, and I was also going through a rough patch in my life after my marriage broke up. The pictures I used to accompany my profile showed me looking girly, despite my forty something years, so of course they were also a contributory factor in whom I attracted. The victim often attracts the bully sort of thing.

A few months later, on anotherfriend.com I chose to affiliate with the goddess Demeter and since the name was already taken, I called myself Demetriana. This name created quite a stir.  Men found it exotic, as many asked was I Russian or Eastern European. The photos I posted on this occasion showed me looking more empowered; dressed casually, often outdoors in nature. Surprisingly I attracted a lot of attention from young men aged twenty one to thirty. Were they subconsciously aware that Demeter is the mother goddess and therefore attracted to me as a mother substitute? The saucy content in some emails however, suggested they were more interested in hauling in a Cougar! Flattering if I wanted to go there, but …no I resisted the temptation of tender young flesh.

Of the older men I attracted, I did my own little survey by asking questions about their relationship with their mothers and strangely most of them had mammy problems. When I said to one guy –

“Most of the men I meet seem to have mother problems”.

He answered glibly “I have no problem with my mother, I just hate her!”

During my incarnation as Demeter, I met nicer men who treated me well yet there was no case of adrenalin pumping chemistry or soul connection with any of them.

Finally on the week preceding Halloween, I put up a profile on match.com using the name Hekate. Pandemonium broke out as some men were magnetically drawn to my profile, while scared senseless that I was some kind of wicked enchantress. How could I use the name of the witch goddess? She whom Shakespeare cast as evil in Macbeth …goddess of the dark side of the moon and patroness of witches! Mail came pouring in asking me why I would call myself this when I could choose Aphrodite instead? The accompanying profile was kick ass – I said I found it hard to meet a man who would interest me. In reply I received mail from high achievers telling me they loved a challenge and begging me to consider them a contender. In fairness I also got the occasional one telling me I was an arrogant B….

Mary-and-pic1-472x426

As Hekate, I certainly demanded and got much more respect from men, which proved  to me that women are more powerful than we know because we are more resourceful and better able to live an independent life than most men. So girls I urge you to remember that in your relationships with men. The vulnerable girly types may attract lots of men but it is the strong woman who encourages lasting respect.

Three years later I am still single by choice and delighted to be so. I attract women (and some men) who understand that the Goddess is alive and well in all of us, regardless of age, size, race etc. They know the goddess is about inspiring each other in a very nurturing way. It is also about loving men and allowing them to be real and vulnerable, not having to put on a macho show which does not serve any relationship. And thankfully more men are beginning to understand this and relish their feminine side. They also see the benefits in encouraging their woman be the va va voom goddess she is.

As the shaman in my story says ‘The goddess energy is about the move from the love of power to the power of love’.

Love & the Goddess is dedicated to the goddess in all women and the men who love her.

The Triple Goddess by Susan Seddon Boulet

The Triple Goddess by Susan Seddon Boulet

 For more information on the Triple Goddess Myth check out this link :- http://www.goddessmeca.com/the-triple-goddess-myth/

LoveGoddess_MEDIUM(1)Touted in the press as ‘Eat, Pray, Love’ meets ‘Sex and the City’.

A woman’s voyage of self discovery begins on the internet leading all the way to Brazil and onto the Andean highlands of Peru.

Devastated from her relationship break- up, Kate Canavan is at a loss until she re-discovers a hidden painting of the triple Goddess from Greek mythology. Her interest in mythology and spirituality is re-ignited. A voyage of self discovery begins with internet dating using the names of each of the Goddesses in the triple myth.
When a health scare intervenes Kate and her friends go together to visit a famous healer in Brazil and a spiritual guru in Peru, where all three friends begin spiritual journeys of forgiveness, gratitude and learning to live in the now. But does Kate find love along the way?

Ferdia Mac Anna (author of cult book to movie Last of the high Kings) says:-

“Funny, informative heart-warming and wildly entertaining. This novel takes the reader on an exhilarating roller-coaster ride though modern romance, internet dating, Peruvian Gurus, wannabes, has-beens and lotharios and brings them home safe and almost sound. This book rocks!’

Love & The Goddess is touring with Fiction Addiction Book Tours

LATG TB

Date

Tour Information

6th January Tracy Riva Books and Reviews
7th January Erin’s Choice
8th January Rachel Brimble Romance
9th January Chicklit vs Fantasy
10th January She Loves To Read
13th January The Book Corner
14th January A Novel Thought
15th January Everything Books and Authors
15th January JGRWriter
16th January Me, Bookshelf and I
17th January Donna’s Room For Reading

3 x signed paperback copies of Love & The Goddess are up for grabs on this tour.

You will be able to enter on tour host posts.

* NEWS FLASH*

WIN A KINDLE FIRE

If you buy a copy of Love & The Goddess while it’s touring and post a review to Amazon and Goodreads, email links of the reviews to fictionaddiction.booktours@gmail.com to be entered into a draw to win a Kindle Fire.  Closing date 28th February 2014.

We hope you’ll join in the fun.

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

