Jera’s Jamboree : Author Interview Kathryn Player

I’m delighted to welcome Kathryn Player to Jera’s Jamboree today.

photo

Kathryn Player Bio

Kathryn Player started writing ‘Moody not Broody’ after she got married when everyone kept banging on about her having children. Then, three years later, she surprised everyone and became a mum to twin girls. After deciding to have a career break, it was a perfect time for ‘Moody not Broody’ to get some air. Now, still a full time mum, Kathryn works on her second novel whenever the girls are asleep.

‘Moody not Broody’ is her debut novel which is based on her teaching antics (sorry, ‘experiences’) over the past ten years.

You can find out more about her on her website

 Twitter @funnyiswrite

Facebook

Blog-Background-20111-006

Please summarise Moody not Broody in 20 words or less. 

Emma is a newly-wed who wants to enjoy her new husband but everyone else expects her to have children.

 What was the idea/inspiration for your novel?

After I got married, in 2007, I was constantly interrogated: WHEN was I going to start a family? I wanted to write a book in response to that pressure.  I wanted to ridicule the idea that when a woman is married, she MUST want children.

 If you could choose to be one of your characters in your book/books which would you be? and why?

I would be Lilly, Emma’s mum, she comes out with the most cringe worthy comments and manages to get away with it!

How do your characters come into existence?  Do they have a bio? 

I don’t write a bio of my characters, I write a bullet point list of what my characters look like and their most distinguishing characteristics.

Who is your targetted audience?  Would you write for a different genre?

Women are my target audience. I would like to write a humorous YA novel, one day.  I have started writing one but it still needs a lot of work.

Do you have a theme for your book covers? Who designs them?  

My husband designed the cover for ‘Moody not Broody’ and he has designed the cover for my next book (a collection of short stories).  He has a great eye for art and is extremely supportive of my work.  Bless him, he’s great.

Do you have a most creative time of day? 

If I had a choice I would definitely write in the morning as that is when I’m most fresh, before I’ve guzzled my weight in chocolate and caffeine.

Do you have a favourite place you go to for inspiration or a favourite activity? 

I go for a walk: this calming exercise opens my mind and releases any troubles. Then, I have a blank canvas where I can think over different plot ideas and characters.

Which authors have influenced your writing? 

Jodi Picoult, John Sullivan, Helen fielding.

 Do you have a favourite book? Why?  What is it about that book?

I love Great Expectations: I love the comedy in this novel but also the deep, moving scenes with Magwitch and Pip.  It always makes me cry when I read certain passages.

Do you think movie adaptations do books justice?  Do you have a favourite? 

Yes.  I think the Bridget Jones films are brilliant and the casting is spot on!

Are there any tips you could share with new writers that have worked well for you or was there something difficult you overcame?

Always edit your work so that it is super polished.  Ask as many people as you can to read your work and give you feedback before you put it out to the public. Listen to reviews and feedback.  You learn and progress from getting lots of opinions about your book.

Being a writer can be lonely.  Do you have a support network? 

Twitter is a brilliant support network: I have met some wonderful writers out there who have been extremely encouraging and supportive.

What has been the best part of your writing journey so far? 

Meeting other writers and book bloggers, on twitter, feeling part of a community.

What has been the worst part of your writing journey so far? 

Not having the time to write now that I have young children, but that is life.  I shall still write, I’m just a lot slower than I used to be.

What are you working on now? 

I’m working on a series of short stories which are based on a sitcom I wrote two years ago.  The stories will be about two sisters working in a charity shop.

Thank you for sharing with us today Kathryn.

Wishing you success with all your writing projects.

41a6ufgpnHL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-69,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_Emma is a newly-wed looking forward to some blissful years with her new husband, but everyone else expects her to have children. They think that because she is a teacher, she MUST want children. However, Emma has never wanted children and has to convince her husband, her family and her friends that she’s not cut out for motherhood.

Emma would much rather pursue her career in teaching and work with children with Special Educational Needs, but then her plans are thwarted and she has to make a choice which will affect her and her husband, Mike, forever.

|  Amazon Kindle  |  Goodreads  |

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

