Jera’s Jamboree : Author Interview Rae Lori

I’m delighted to be welcoming Rae Lori to Jera’s Jamboree today.

rae

Romance-Adventure-Mystery is Rae Lori’s motto as she strives to write stories that are romantic yet adventurous no matter what time period and setting. With a love for film, vampires and visual storytelling she couples the visual with art of the written word to tell her stories.

She is an avid reader and viewer of science fiction, romance and fantasy since she was young. Throughout her writing career, she has garnered credits writing movie reviews, fiction and articles on the comic book and film industry. Under various pen names, she has written books, novellas and short stories that run the genre gamut of science fiction, fantasy, short roman noir and paranormal romance and many more waiting to drip onto the page.

Rae makes her home in Phoenix, Arizona where she pens her stories and works as a graphic designer.

Learn more about her work at: http://www.raelori.com

 Blog – http://raelori.blogspot.com

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/RaeLori

Twitter – https://twitter.com/RaeLori

Amazon Author Page

Blog-Background-20111-006

Welcome Rae!

Do you have a most creative time of day?

I’m usually mostly creative late at night. When the world is sleeping and all is quiet in the city, I feel my imagination come to life with characters and situations that would otherwise be quiet during the day. If I’m under deadline, I can focus enough to write anytime but night time is my preferable writing hour.

Do you have a theme for your book covers?  Who designs them? 

I create my own book covers. I studied media arts and animation and graphic design was part of my curriculum. I learned to wield Photoshop in a way that can help me get the desired cover that would fit my books. They don’t have one overall theme other than emulating the story between the covers in a visual form. I try my hardest to achieve that while making the covers unique.

 Are you a panster or a plotter?

Definitely a pantser. I plot very lightly in my head in that I get an idea for a story through its characters but I don’t do full on plotting because I like the story to grow organically from my head. When I go through rewrites, that’s when I start molding the story into a more finished form with a focus on plot and more characterization.

 What are you working on now?

I have a few in the works but I’ll pick one. 😉 I’m working on a romantic suspense with a lot of action focusing on a female CEO with a cure for diseases. Another larger company wants to buy her out but she refuses and soon becomes the target for a hit. Thankfully our hitman has a conscience and takes matters into his own hands. The book is called On the Cut and I hope readers will enjoy it. I’m also still working on finishing Inheritance of Ashes, the third book in my Ashen Twilight series which I want to be perfect before it hits the market.

 Which authors have influenced your writing?

A few actually! Rod Serling, Alfred Hitchcock and Anne Rice. These writers are just masters at the art of storycrafting and I love how they can weave a story with such interesting characters. They keep an audience captivated and unique in their presentation and they don’t rely on gimmicks. I love that. I try to do the same with my own writing.

Do you have a favourite book? Why?  What is it about that book? 

Definitely! Besides the Bible which is just an amazing historical blueprint for humanity, I love Brave New World. I remember when we started reading it in high school. I hadn’t read anything like it and I marveled at how close to our society the story was, even though it was a satire. It inspired me to write my own sci-fi vision of the future, CimmerianCity, but it also said a lot about humanity’s possible future if we continue on a certain path.

Are there any tips you could share with new writers about self-publishing that have worked well for you or was there something difficult you overcame?

I would say try not to worry about what other people are doing. There is so much talk about marketing and promoting and everything that detracts from writing. Focus on the craft, focus on telling a great story and the rest will follow. Feel free to try different marketing techniques but sometimes it’s just plain ole word of mouth that gets you in front of readers. Social Networking may help here and there but try not to get sucked up so much in it that you forget your writing roots! Overall, have fun with it!

Being a writer can be lonely.  Do you have a support network?

I do indeed! I pop into my writing groups now and then to see how my fellow writers are doing. It’s nice to be able to talk to others who are going through the same thing I am. I tend to disappear at times and take time off to rediscover my love of writing if I get too jaded and during these times I’m enjoying spending time with my new husband and my family. It also helps develop new stories for me that I think readers will enjoy seeing through a different kind of lens.

What has been the best part of your writing journey so far?

Seeing my books in their final form. So much time is spent writing, reworking the writing, editing, formatting, etc. that I tend to just hop from one story to the next. I rarely take time to stop and look at what I’ve accomplished and looking back helps me keep from beating myself up too much if I’m not where I want to be! So I love looking at my finished products and seeing my readers enjoy the stories that come out. I also love it when I get a nice compliment from readers who discovered me via recommendations from their friends. I can’t help but squee over that.

What has been the worst part of your writing journey so far?

The bad reviews can be kind of tough especially when it’s over something that means a lot to me like the characters. The industry is in flux now and not knowing if readers will like your story can make you a bit batty. But keeping an eye on enjoying what you write and what you also like to read can help because it keeps you passionate about a project even when it’s under the radar!

Use three words to describe the plot of your current WIP.

 Fast, romantic, sexy

Thank you for sharing with my readers today Rae.  I know a lot of authors will identify with your comments about social media and the best/worst part of your writing journey.

Inheritance of Ashes – Coming Soon

IoA-sm

 

The Comfort of Strangers – Coming Fall 2013

TCoS-sm

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

