Jera’s Jamboree : Review Sophie’s Encore by Nicky Wells Blog Tour plus Giveaway

Sophies_Encore

Her rock star is waiting in the wings, but will he get a second chance?

It’s all change for Sophie Jones—only this time, there is more at stake than just her happiness.

Rock star extraordinaire, Dan Hunter, has been her patient and caring friend through the highs and lows since her wedding day, but now he figures it is time for her to start over. By stealth, the rock singer draws Sophie into the behind-the-scenes work for his band’s latest album. Through the days and weeks spent together at the mixing desk, Sophie discovers whole new horizons for her life, yet before she can even begin to explore them, she faces the very real threat of losing her rock star for good.

Join Sophie and Dan in Sophie’s Encore to find out how their journey will end…

Published by Sapphire Star Publishing

Amazon.co.uk Kindle | Amazon.co.uk Paperback | Amazon.com Kindle | Amazon.com Paperback | Barnes & Noble Paperback | Nook

Blog-Background-20111-002

Here we are at the final book in the Rock Star trilogy.  It is a sad moment for me!

I missed the chance of getting to know one character better (see my review of Sophie’s Run) because obviously, we weren’t going to go in that direction.  However I didn’t realise how dramatic that would be!

We begin Sophie’s Encore with Soph and best friend Rachel on a Friday night in.  Straight away we’re back into the bonds they have with each other and … a crisis!

Sophie is not letting go of what has happened in the intervening years.  Dan is still a big part of Sophie’s life but in a very different role!  With Josh starting at school and Emily starting at pre-school, the time has come for Sophie to get back out into the world.

Dan teaches her sound engineering and she’s taken on as Richard’s apprentice.  Love the way she hears sound in colour!  I’m going to try this the next time I get the opportunity to lose myself in music!  I must admit that at one point I was getting anxious that Wells had got hung up on the musical aspect of the story but no, once we’re familiar with Sophie’s new occupation, it’s integrated with her life.

Dan’s hectic lifestyle of working and supporting Sophie causes a major crisis.  One particular scene is full of angst and tension.  I just wasn’t expecting this!  Wells portrays this really well.  It is obvious she has researched and the facts translate so well into the story during this trauma.

I thought that Josh and Emily’s characters truly enriched this final part of the trilogy with their reactions to experiences being so true to life.

Dan is still HOT and very desirable.  Even more so now he has matured and has taken on a different role.  He’s still a lot of fun!  I wouldn’t mind spending Christmas with him …

The romance?  I’m not going to say anything at all apart from my favourite part has to be while Sophie and her children are touring with Tuscq … and one particular scene had me in tears of joy.  You’ll have to read the book to find out more!

I have to be honest and tell you that when I reached 95% I just couldn’t pick it up again.  Why?  Simple.  I didn’t want the trilogy to end.  I was putting off those final moments.

Romance, friendships, music, how children change your life, grief, learning to live again, illness, new locations and touring with a well-known rock band … what’s not to hold your attention?  Wells does include information that the reader needs to know from the previous books but to get the whole picture, you really do need to start at the beginning to see how everything builds naturally to reach its final conclusion.

Buy it but be loathe to share your copy ... it's a keeper!

Buy it but be loathe to share your copy … it’s a keeper!

I would like to thank the author in providing an e-copy in exchange for an honest review.

Blog-Background-20111-004

Party Time — The GIVEAWAY!!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

1 x signed Sophie’s Encore Poster
2 x Sophie’s Encore Mugs
1 x Sophie’s Run Mug
1 x $10 Amazon Gift Voucher (or equivalent currency)
2 x Sophie’s Encore Key Ring
1 x Sophie’s Run Key Ring
2 x “Swag Pack” featuring 2 postcards (1 signed) each for all three Rock Star Romance books, and 2 bookmarks each for Sophie’s Turn and Sophie’s Run

ENTER HERE: a Rafflecopter giveaway

The giveaway closes 30 September at 12 midnight BST.
Entrants must be 18 or over. Giveaway is open internationally.

Good Luck

Magic-Book-Wallpaper-002

About Nicky Wells

Photo courtesy of author

Photo courtesy of author

Nicky Wells is your ultimate rock chick author. Signed to US Publisher, Sapphire Star Publishing, Nicky writes Romance That Rocks Your World, featuring the rock star and the girl next door.

Nicky’s books offer glitzy, glamorous contemporary romance with a rock theme ~ imagine Bridget Jones ROCKS Notting Hill!

Born in Germany, Nicky moved to the United Kingdom in 1993 and currently lives in Lincoln. In a previous professional life, Nicky worked as a researcher and project manager for an international Human Resources research firm based in London and Washington, D.C. Like her leading lady, Sophie, Nicky loves listening to rock music, dancing, and eating lobsters. When she’s not writing, she’s a wife, mother, occasional knitter, and regular contributor to The Midweek Drive show on Lincoln’s Siren 107.3 FM. Rock on!

Blog | Twitter | Facebook | Romantic Novelists’ Association | Sapphire Star Publishing | Amazon | Goodreads| Pinterest

NickyWells_Border_

*Nicky waves*

Whoa! What a party! I hope you enjoyed yourself. Thank you again for stopping by Jera’s Jamboree today to help me celebrate. Happy reading and rock on! And don’t forget to say ‘hi’, I’d love to hear from you and I will come back to chat later!

15 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree : Review Sophie’s Encore by Nicky Wells Blog Tour plus Giveaway

  1. I’ve just started Sophie’s Encore – well, actually I’m about 20% of the way through it as I can’t put it down. LOVE Nicky’s books, they’re a joy to read. I’m reading the part where Sophie discovers a natural talent for – ah, no! I’m not going to spoil the story!

    • Hiya, Alison! Thanks for stopping by and for your lovely comment! 🙂 Sophie discovers quite a lot about herself, doesn’t she? I’m so glad you’re enjoying the Encore so far, read on and rock on! And good luck if you’ve entered the giveaway! XX

    • Yes, Ananda, I thought you’d like that bit! Dan’s definitely hotter and better than ever, even if I say so myself. Happy reading, and thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. Good luck (again!!!) with the giveaway!!! 🙂 Rock on and Happy Friday to you. Xx

  2. Aw Shaz! A Keeper?!? Wow! I have to say, my heart nearly stopped at the bit where you say you couldn’t pick it up again… but then I got it. *and Nicky breathes again*

    You remember that you were the first reviewer ever to tackle Sophie’s Turn? And then you posted your review again to support the re-launch the following autumn? Then you reviewed Sophie’s Run, and quite suddenly here we are, at the end of the Trilogy. Wow. I just wanted to tell you how much your support over the past…well, two years, really, has meant. I wouldn’t be doing what I am doing, I wouldn’t be blogging and social networking and ‘touring’, if you hadn’t pointed me in the right direction that first August we ‘met.’ Your friendship means the world to me.

    Thus I’m doubly glad that the Encore ‘rocked’ your world (is it fair to say that?). And yes, the Trilogy is finished, but I’m only just getting started. So thank you yet again for sharing your thoughts and spreading the word. You rock!

    Here’s wishing good luck to all giveaway entrants…. and happy Friday!

    • Awww Nicky, have come over all emotional!. Yes, Yes and Yes 🙂

      We have travelled together this far … and we will continue to do so!

      I’ve had great pleasure in watching you grow and spreading those wings.

      Here’s to many more years Nicky.
      x

  3. Pingback: Sophie’s Encore: The Touring Roll Call of Thanks! | Romance That Rocks Your World!

  4. I just can’t read it yet. It’s not that long ago I read Sophie’s Run, and …. once Encore is read, there’s no going back – the Sophie and Dan party will be *over*………

    SO.

    I am waiting. Anticipating. Excited. Being patient.

    And then I’ll dive in and ENJOY! 😀

    • Oh Jo, that’s so cute! I know exactly what you mean. I’ve been there with several favourite series myself, and I’m thrilled that Sophie and Dan got so deeply under your skin that you don’t want to let them go. Thank you for your lovely, lovely comment! XXX

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

