Jera’s Jamboree : Author Interview Jean Hausmann

Today I have the pleasure of welcoming Jean Hausmann to Jera’s Jamboree.

Jean_Hausmann_Picture

Jean Hausmann works as a Wellness Coach specializing in Weight Loss and Maintenance. She also teaches classes and has just written the book The Tale of Eating Beauty: How She Broke the Food Spell and How You Can Too! that focuses on how anyone can break the ‘Food Spell’.

Her knowledge of food and its power has not just come from being what she calls, ‘a professional dieter’ and her several years of weight and food struggles. Jean studied, practiced and taught body/mind/spirit health techniques for 30 plus years.

Jean holds a Master’s Degree from Holos University focusing on body mind spirit wellness.

She currently teaches in colleges in Wisconsin and Arizona. Her most popular course is “Weight Loss from the Inside Out”. Other courses include: classes in Spirituality, Methods for Self-empowerment, the Power of Thought, Living a Balanced Life of Health and Wellness, Connecting to the Healing Power of the Earth and How to Stop Tolerating What You Should No Longer Tolerate.

Visit the author at http://www.jeanhausmann.com and http://www.facebook/JeanHausmannProfessionalHealthWellnessCoach

Blog-Background-20111-006

Hi Jean,

Please summarise your latest book in 20 words or less.

Madge, a consummate yo-yo dieter, finds help from a mysterious stranger in unlocking the secrets to permanent and successful weight loss as well as creating strong self-esteem.

What was the idea/inspiration for your novel?

The inspiration for the book came from many sources: teachers, classes, my own personal struggles with weight and food and students from a class I teach called ‘Weight Loss from the Inside Out.’ They suggested and encouraged me to put the content of the course in a book claiming that they found the techniques inspiring and very useful.  One day, I just decided to give it a try.  I have no professional writing in my background so I decided to do it in a story form for two reasons. There are already many great how to diet books and second, I wanted people to relate to the character’s struggles and triumphs.

If you could choose to be one of your characters in your book which would you be? and why?

If I could be a character I would be more of Madge.  I believe that the wisdom and answers reside within as represented by Viv, but we are  usually too distracted to access our own insights, knowledge and strengths.  I love Madge though because she is real and authentic and openly shares her struggles. She has to ‘live’ out all the wisdom and help Viv gives her.

Who is your targetted audience?

My target audience is anyone struggling with weight and or food issues. People who yo-yo diet and either can’t lose the weight or if they are successful in losing weight, they don’t sustain their new body’s weight.  Since the title and characters probably appeal more to women from 45 up, they are more likely to find the book.  I have had a couple of men write Amazon reviews, however, and they gave it great thumbs up.

Are you a panster or a plotter?

I am both a panster and a plotter.  I used my class summaries and materials for the general outline, but wrote freely.  I let what I wrote sit a day and then went back to it and that’s when I made changes.

My biggest problem was lack of confidence in my ability to do this and the procrastination that resulted.  It took me 3 years to get 8 chapters.  Then I hired a coach and I was finished with my first draft in 3 months.  Writing SOMETHING almost every day is the best advice I received.  Even if it’s not much; it keeps the momentum going.  Have fun and don’t take yourself too seriously; it will take a lot of the pressure off you.

Are there any tips you could share with new writers (who are planning to self-publish) that have worked well for you or was there something difficult you overcame?  How?

I am self-published and my tip is this.  Read a book(s) like 1001 Ways to Market Your Book by John Kremer or Pluggling Your Book by Steve Weber as well as poke around the internet. There is a lot of information out there on the ins and outs of the process, which I didn’t know about.  I went into this quite ignorant of the marketing end and I think that there are many great resources to help.  Start reading even before you have your book finished!

What are you reading now? Opinion?

I am reading Man’s Search for Meaning by Victor Frankel.  It is my third time with this book – what a powerful story of the triumph of the human spirit.  I also just bought Hunger Games, but haven’t started it yet.

Thank you for sharing with us today.

EatingBeauty_hi_rez

The Tale of Eating Beauty

How She Broke the Food Spell and How You Can Too!

By Jean Hausmann

A lifetime dieter, Madge has just about given up hope of ever getting out from under the power of food. Will she ever have a body she loves, not just in weight and size, but a body with energy, health and vitality?

She is filled with remorse, anger and disgust, the day she meets Viv, a mysterious woman who offers to show Madge how to break free of the spell food has over her. As her journey unfolds, Madge learns that losing weight permanently begins by changing from within. Viv shows her how to accept herself and become conscious of choices and their consequences.

Challenging useless beliefs, finding her own power, dealing with what sabotages her and developing her self-esteem are just part of what Madge needs to do. In the end, she no longer needs diets; she has become an empowered woman in charge of her life – and with the body she loves!

The book is now available for purchase at:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble 

Balboa Press

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

