Jera’s Jamboree : Author Interview with Elle Field

Jera’s Jamboree is excited to be welcoming Elle Field:

Elle Field author photo

Elle Field is a twenty-something chick lit author who lives in London with her boyfriend. She enjoys exploring and photographing Blighty’s capital, seeing far too many musicals, and eating her way around London’s culinary delights.

Blog-Background-20111-006

 

Hi Elle, welcome!

Please summarise your latest book in 20 words or less.

Kept:

It’s no hardship being a kept woman, but Arielle used to have dreams of her own…

What was the idea/inspiration for your novel?

Like Arielle I’ve known what career I’ve wanted to do ever since I was a child. For Arielle her childhood career dream was to be a fashion designer; mine was to be an author. Writing Kept has made that happen for me, but I won’t spoil it by telling you how things work out for Arielle!

Arielle gets to live the high life in Kept, not working after she graduated and living the high life with her boyfriend Piers. My reality after university was living at home with my parents, sans boyfriend, and on a budget. There’s definitely some wishful thinking from a much younger me that inspired that part of Kept – I got to make my dream happen, plus had quite a nice time researching all the luxury Arielle gets to experience.  

 Do you have a most creative time of day?

Yes, it tends to be late at night which is not ideal when you have a 9-5 job! I unfortunately can’t write into the wee hours every night, as much as I’d like to, or I’d be a zombie every day!

Are you a panster or a plotter?

Definitely a panster – the story goes where it wants to go. I might have a rough idea of the outcome or the characters when I start but mostly I just go with the (writing) flow!

 Is your book part of a series, what is in the future?

A lot of people got in touch with me after reading Kept, or they left me a review, saying that they needed to know what happened next to Arielle so there will definitely be a sequel. As I’ve not sat down to write it yet though, I’m not sure whether there will be a third book – you’ll have to wait and see!

 Who is your targeted audience?

My target audience is smart, savvy women, aged eighteen to forty, who enjoy popular culture but like it with an intelligent twist. At the moment I have more than enough ideas for future chick lit books but one day I’d love to try my hand at a crime thriller!

What has been the best part of your writing journey so far?

Definitely reading all the lovely reviews and hearing how much people love my style of writing and my debut novel. It’s very scary putting your book out there as it’s quite a personal thing, so to have mostly positive feedback is a wonderful thing!

 What tips do you have for other aspiring writers?

Don’t worry about what you write and let that put you off beginning your book – just sit down and write because getting started can definitely be the hardest part! Your writing will definitely get stronger the more you put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard), so just keep going!

 What are you reading now? Opinion?

I’m reading Bitter Water by Gordon Ferris. It’s the second book in his Douglas Brodie series and as far removed from chick lit as you can get. When I’m working on my own books I like to read other genres so that I can’t contaminate my work – this book is a crime thriller set in post-war Glasgow so it’s definitely nothing like anything I write! I’m really enjoying Bitter Water. It’s got a great pace to it and is gritty, authentic, and with a likeable main character – what more could you want?

What is your WIP?

I’m editing my next book Geli Voyante’s Hot or Not at the moment. Geli works at a newspaper and has the added bonus of sitting next to the very hot political columnist, Theo, who she has had a crush on since she started her job. When her arch-nemesis Tiggy Boodles gets engaged, Geli finally sets about to try and convince Theo that she’s not as shallow as her light-hearted column suggests and, more importantly, she’s the one for him… That’s out in October!  (chick lit/romance readers, mark that date on your calendar!)

Thank you for sharing with us today Elle.

Kept Elle Field‘Did she really just say that? I am fifteen again, except the reality is I am experiencing full parental horror, aged twenty-five. I want to die.’

Life hasn’t quite worked out how Arielle Lockley imagined it would. Becoming the next Coco Chanel was always her childhood dream, but she’s spent the past four years living a dizzying whirl of glitzy parties, luxurious holidays and daily shopping sprees – all paid for by boyfriend Piers – and not doing anything to make her Coco dreams happen.

When the recession hits, it’s not just the economy that takes a tumble and Arielle finds herself living back with her parents, on bad terms with Piers, and having a CV that’s as welcome as a pair of knock-off Jimmy Choos. And maybe it’s the location, but she’s also finding unwelcome thoughts of her childhood sweetheart are popping into her head…

What’s a girl to do? Can Arielle figure out what it is she now wants to do with her life and move on, or will she be doomed to spend the rest of her life dwelling over her worst mistakes, stuck listening to her parents’ embarrassing dinner table talk each night?

Elle’s Links

Book on Amazon: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Kept-ebook/dp/B00CHCOO7E/

Blog: http://www.ellefield.co.uk

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/ellefie

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ellefieldauthor

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7060681.Elle_Field

3 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree : Author Interview with Elle Field

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

