Jera’s Jamboree : Stationery Love with Aven Ellis

learn_stationery_03_vector_154907

My Stationery Love guest today is Aven Ellis.

WELCOME!

My Addiction to Notebooks

I am well aware that in this age of iPads and smartphones,  I can keep nearly every appointment, idea, and note-to-self in some kind of electronic device.

But I don’t.

In fact, I love nothing better than a beautiful new notebook or planner to organize my life. Are they bulky? Sometimes. Do they fit in my purse? When your purse is the size of a small European nation, yes! Will I ever part with them? NO.

I have three main notebooks to organize my life: my Meals Notebook, my Fashion Notebook, and my Story Notebook. Then I have a Daily Planner for appointments and tracking workouts. (Um, that workout column in the planner needs MUCH IMPROVEMENT but that is not the point of this post so we’ll avoid that discussion, yes? Okay, great!)

The Meals Notebook I found in a basket on a display table at World Market (US chain.) It says “The Best of Life is at the Table” on the front, and it begins with the first week of 2013. I handwrite the menu for the week on one page, detailing the dinner entrees and sides for every day, then my lunch and snacks. The next page is the shopping list, sorted by Produce, Dairy, Meats, and Misc. I also jot down recipes in here that I’m going to use that week–this past week I made a lovely potato and green bean salad with pesto, and that is right there for me to refer back to if I need it.

My Fashion Notebook is how I organize what I want to purchase each fall for the fall/winter season for my wardrobe. I love this notebook, with its rich color and Paris on the front. It screams fashion to me. For this notebook, I actually gather my fashion magazines, cut out pictures, and use a glue stick to affix them into the notebook. When a look is created, I can go straight to the store, show the sales clerk, and ask if they can help me recreate this look. This notebook is popular at the stores–I have had sales people comment how cool it was, other customers have asked to flip through it, and I was once offered a job as a stylist because of it!

My Story Notebook was sent to me by one of my closest friends (shout out to Amanda!) and it says “Keep Calm and Carry On.” This is my story idea book. If ideas are coming to me fast for a story, character, or plot idea–I usually type them into my phone. But if I want to sit down and really sketch, I need to feel pen against paper. So this one has notes for the current work in progress, so I can’t show it to you…you’ll just have to wait for the book to come out!

my notebooks

My love of notebooks has also carried over to my characters. In Connectivity (release date October 23), Mary-Kate Grant carries one in her bag to jot down ideas for her blog. She is young and fashion- forward, so that is why I see her using a chevron patterned notebook or a fashion notebook for her ideas.

Copy of MK Binder

So as you can see, my life is sorted and divided into notebooks–and I make my characters use them, too. And even if you handed me the latest smartphone tomorrow, I would still be happily lugging around my notebooks.

I love it that your character, Mary-Kate, carries a notebook 🙂

AND I love your Fashion Notebook!

If you’re looking for a journal/notebook as a gift, please check out the ones I have sourced from a fair trade source.

e5e2989a92591e086c3399c6ab04c038

Aven Ellis has been writing fiction since she was sixteen. She studied communications at a large Midwestern university, and after graduation, Aven worked as a reporter for a community newspaper, followed by a stint at a public relations agency.

But writing about city council meetings and restaurant franchises was not as much fun as writing for young women trying to figure out their careers and potential boyfriends. So Aven got herself a job in television that allowed her to write at night.

Connectivity is Aven’s debut novel; Waiting For Prince Harry and a new adult romantic comedy will be published next year.

Aven lives in Dallas with her family. When she is not writing, Aven enjoys shopping, cooking, connecting with friends on social media, and watching any show that features Gordon Ramsay.

Twitter @AvenEllis

Facebook

Website

Pinterest

16 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree : Stationery Love with Aven Ellis

  1. Fashion notebook! I thought I was the only one? Mine’s a habit from uni when I studied fashion & it’s stuck, even if most days I wear George @ Asda or if I’m really pushing the boat out, high street.
    Fab notebooks! :))

  2. I love your notebooks, Aven!! The Fashion one is brilliant. I need to start one of those :-).

  3. Aven – I’m ready for you to come organize my life for me! And if you’d shop for me, as well, and find the perfect purse? That’s just icing on the cupcake!

    • It is a wonderful idea Janice! I wish I’d thought of that when I had time and used to love going through the magazines …

      Thanks for commenting.
      Shaz

  4. Thanks for all comments, ladies! I am just getting my magazines together for my Fall fashions clip/paste session…LOVE FALL FASHIONS!

    Cheers
    XO Aven

  5. Pingback: Jera’s Jamboree : Author Interview Aven Ellis | Jera's Jamboree

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

