Jera’s Jamboree : Guest Author Terry Tyler

I’m delighted to be welcoming Terry Tyler to Jera’s Jamboree today.

llllyy

Terry Tyler lives in the north of England with her husband. She has five contemporary fiction novels on Amazon, and hopes the 6th will be available by around September 2013, which is, of course, dependent on the amount of time she spends mucking around on Twitter and playing spider solitaire.

When she is not writing, Terry likes to binge-watch television series like ’24’, ‘Breaking Bad’ and ‘Game of Thrones’, and is very interested in all things historical.

She used to be something of a rock chick, but her days of sitting on the grass drinking cider and getting sunburnt waiting for Aerosmith/Poison/Thunder to hit the stage are now, sadly, behind her; she’s not quite at the tea cosy buying stage yet, but…

Blog-Background-20111-003

First of all I’d like to thank Sharon for inviting me to tell her readers a little about my work, and about my new novel, What It Takes, which will be published in September, fingers crossed and touch wood!

I have five other novels on Amazon.  I write contemporary fiction – I label them such because I find it hard to place them into one specific genre.  They’re part drama, part romantic suspense, part chick lit, part humour…  ‘Dream On’ and ‘Full Circle’, my two most recent, are a cross between rock romance and lad lit, I suppose, but ‘What It Takes’, my soon-to-be-published sixth book, is back to my more usual family drama and love stuff with twisty bits!   I’ve also got a short story collection in process, which I hope to publish at some time in the autumn.  I’m really enjoying working on them, after the intensity of getting another full length novel ready for publication – it’s a bit of light relief!

I have a blog on which I post most weeks.  On this I write about all sorts of things: relationship issues, nostalgia (with plenty of pictures!), a few pieces on self-publishing, and some funny stuff, too – some recent posts about how best-selling authors might promote themselves on Twitter, if they had to, have gone down very well!

I also have a regular blog about self-publishing on the UK Arts Directory, and will be the Strictly Come Dancing correspondent for entertainment site The BizzNiz, come the autumn.  My husband is not going to be pleased about me having to watch it every Saturday night….!

I’m very excited about publishing ‘What It Takes’ – I wanted to have the cover ready for this piece but unfortunately Mr Cover Designer has not finished it yet – however, I have written the first draft of the blurb, so here it is:

What it Takes

Karen Kavanagh has a huge handicap when it comes to affairs of the heart, she says.  She’s plain, but she has good taste.

Her two elder sisters, domestic goddess Ava and salon owner Saskia, take after their mother, a gorgeous Danish former model.  Karen feels like Cinderella in reverse.

Danny Alvarez doesn’t see her like that.  He thinks she’s wonderful.

Lots of women want Danny, but Danny just wants Karen.

The trouble is, she can’t quite believe it.

She pushes him away ~ and then realises what she’s done…

What It Takes is a tale of insecurity, obsession, sibling rivalry, love and loss – and the games people play in the search for love…

Thank you for taking the time to read this, and thanks once again to Sharon for allowing me into her home, as it were!

Sounds very intriguing Terry.  Thank you for being a guest today and I’m sure my readers will join in wishing you success with What It Takes! 

Terry’s Links:

Amazon UK Author Page

Amazon US Author Page

 Terry’s blog

UK Arts Directory blog

Facebook Author page

Goodreads Author page

Twitter @TerryTyler4

 

4 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree : Guest Author Terry Tyler

  1. I like that Terry’s books bend genre’s, I think the publishing industry is really guilty of holding writers and original, interesting fiction to ransom at the expense of pigeonholing authors for the sake of traders. It’s massively frustrating!

    • Agree! I’ve heard the excuse that staff won’t know which shelf to put the book on .. umm, HELLO! ecopies?

      Thank you for commenting Yasmin.
      Shaz

  2. Baby brain has meant that I’d almost forgotten what What It Takes was about, Terry – most humble apologies, but I have to say, now that my memory has been refreshed, I am looking forward to its release even more. Will this be the book which ousts Nobody’s Fault as my favourite of your books? Time will tell. Sooz

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

