Jera’s Jamboree : Author Interview with Carol Cassada

Jera’s Jamboree is delighted to be welcoming Carol Cassada today.

IMG-20130126-00155

Carol Cassada is a young author from the small town of Ringgold, VA. Growing up she was a huge fan of reading and writing, so it’s no surprise to those closest to her that she decided to pursue writing as a career.

After graduating from Old Dominion University, Carol started on her first book Going Home Again released by Romance Divine in February 2010. For her next book Westmore, Carol turned to self-publishing and her love of soap operas to write the series.

When she’s not busy writing, Carol enjoys spending time with her family and playing with her three dogs and two cats.

Blog: http://www.carolcassada.blogspot.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/dramacjc

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Author-Carol-Cassada/233360543344573

Blog-Background-20111-006

Hi Carol, what was the idea/inspiration for your novel? 

Soap operas are what inspired the Westmore series. I’ve been a soap fan for nearly 20 years and this may sound silly, but I used to dream about being a writer for the shows, I even went as far as writing my own soap opera. After I finished my first book Going Home Again, I was looking for inspiration for my next book and was having trouble coming up with a story. One day I found my notebook with my soap opera ideas and I thought why not write a literary soap opera book series.

What is in the future for your series?

Westmore: Revelations is the fourth volume in the Westmore series. The theme for this volume is secrets and many of the mysteries from the previous volumes will finally come to light. Among the revelations are: the identity of Jacob’s ex-fiancée, the return of Laura’s ex-lover, and the real cause of death for Braxton matriarch Alexis.

For the future volumes, I expect to add more drama especially for The Braxtons, plus there will be new couples on the horizon.

Do you have a most creative time of day? 

I do most of my writing during the day, although night time is when I usually have creative ideas pop into my head. When that happens I rush to get my notebook so I can write down my thoughts.

Being a writer can be lonely.  Do you have a support network?

 My mom and my brothers have been my biggest supporter throughout my writing career. They’ve seen me struggle and they always encourage me to keep following my dream. I also have a great group of author friends that I’ve met through Goodreads, Facebook, and Twitter.

What has been the best part of your writing journey so far?

 The best part is writing the book and getting it published. Also, participating in interviews and meeting a bunch of authors has been exciting too.

What has been the worst part of your writing journey so far?

 The slow book sales.

Do you think movie adaptations do books justice?  Do you have a favourite?

I don’t have a favorite movie adaptation and as for the movies I think they have a 50/50 chance of working. It depends on a number of factors such as the cast, if the movie stays true to the book’s original plot, and if fans of the book are willing to see the movie.

Finally, are there any tips you could share with new writers about self publishing that have worked well for you?

 Self-publishing can be a bit intimidating because you’re doing all the work yourself. Everything from writing to editing to promotion falls on your shoulders. When I started out as an indie author I was a bit scared, but one thing that helped me is joining indie author forums. Talking to the authors and reading their stories helped ease my fears and prepare me for the self-publishing world. So I would suggest that new writers join forums, talk to other authors, and do research to help them in their writing career.

Thank you for being my guest today Carol.

Westmore4picIn the fourth volume of the series, secrets threaten the couples and families of Westmore.

*Jacob and Laura’s lives are turned upside down when their former flames return to town and stir up old feelings.

*Scott and Melissa’s long-distance relationship is threatened when he learns his girlfriend has been hanging out with Wayne Braxton.

*The truth about their mother’s death could destroy the very core of The Braxtons and drive a wedge between Andrew and Jeff.

Plus, find out what other drama awaits the beloved characters in Westmore: Revelations.

Available at:

Amazon US |  Barnes and Noble  |  Kobo Books  |  Amazon UK  |

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree : Author Interview with Carol Cassada

  1. Like Carol, my most creative time is the evening. I’m not good in a morning! I think indie authors are amazing. They do everything and its hard work. Wishing you better sales and continued enjoyment Carol.

    • Some authors are choosing to go indie … but they already have a network and previous readers. Agree with you totally Rebecca.

      Thank you for leaving a comment for Carol.
      Shaz

  2. I love soaps so I’ve put these books on my wish list on Amazon for when I’ve read what I have just now. Great interview nice to find an author I didn’t know,Hi Carol.

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

