Jera’s Jamboree : Stationery Love with Julia Lee

learn_stationery_03_vector_154907

 

My guest today on Stationery Love is Julia Lee.

WELCOME!

The habit started young. My earliest stationery memories:

1)    on holiday aged 4 or 5, begging my mum to spare a page from her blue Basildon Bond notepaper so that I could draw. I had to make the pictures very small and cover both sides. Questions: why did she take writing paper on holiday with her, and why didn’t someone just buy me a colouring book? (Not that I liked colouring books much – I was more free-form.)

2)    At five, I was given a ball-point pen with four colours: red, blue, green and black. You slid a tiny lever and the chosen colour slotted into place. It was a bit chunky to hold, but I loved it. I wrote and illustrated my first book with it and my mum stitched the pages together on her sewing machine. I still have it!

julia lee

 

Inspired by blue, black, red and green!

(How wonderful is this?)

Looking back, it’s clear that the two main strands of my stationery addiction – acquisitiveness and hoarding – were there early on. I always loved drawing and writing, but I was fussy about the paper; hated having to draw on rough sugar-paper at school, or those shiny, crayon-unfriendly sheets of butcher paper. So – forget the toys and sweets – I used to drift around Woolworths yearning after packets of snowy-white typing paper. Then an uncle who worked at a printing firm brought me off-cuts: stationery heaven! Stacks of quality white paper in all weights and sizes, from huge sheets to slips no bigger than bookmarks. Even then, I didn’t go crazy but hoarded some in case the supply should suddenly dry up. I’m the same today – I get twitchy when the pack of white A4 runs low.

As for drawing, what was more pleasing than a giant pack of rainbow felt-tips or beautiful soft Lakeland colouring pencils in subtly-graded tones? A set of six or ten just wouldn’t do; the whole point was to have the entire colour range to choose from.

These days I love wandering in proper stationers and art supply shops, and fall for things I’m unlikely to use. Scriptum in Oxford sells quill pens and inkwells. Do I need one? No. Do I want one? Of course. In Brighton’s Pen to Paper I bought a dip pen and various nibs, even a little tin to keep the nibs in, all because I can’t resist Windsor & Newton coloured inks, with their wittily-designed boxes. Confession – I had to throw out my wider selection of colours because they had all dried up, and am restricting myself to black Indian ink…for now.

My favourite shop is Paperchase. Everything I need, from envelopes to whoopee cushions (in season). I love their very practical notebooks: with pretty covers, funky covers, jokey covers, with elastic bands to keep them closed, with dividers, with pockets inside the covers. With clear pocket pages every so often all the way through! You can keep things in them!! I don’t know what, but I had to have one, all the same.

julia lee 1

 Paperchase notebooks with added extras.

Which brings me to the trait identified by others here in Stationery Love: owning notebooks that are too nice to use. Saved for that utterly special piece of writing you haven’t begun yet, but will, some day. Mine tend to be covered in fabric too fragile to carry around, too precious to be stuffed into a bag and later spill coffee on. I’m also drawn to sketchbooks and plain pages, but my writing is very scrappy and sloping and I really need the discipline of lined paper; wide lines and preferably a margin. Hell, that looks organised!

julia lee 2

Too lovely to use?

I have numerous notebooks filled with observational jotting and part-written stories, or used on writing courses I‘ve attended and the courses I run. Some are tiny and portable, some generous A-4 sized for generous open-minded writing. I can’t throw them away: there might be a gem hidden in there somewhere, even if the writing is almost impossible to read. And I can’t help acquiring more.

julia lee 3

My notebook shelves – spot the old blue exercise books that germinated novels.

Although I’m far happier on the keyboard than writing by hand, I use a separate notebook for each full-length book, for ideas, planning, and middle-of-the-night scribbles. I began with a dull blue hardback exercise book with a cloth-covered spine. Having actually completed a novel by this method, on the basis of “lucky pants” I continued with the same style of notebook for the next one and the next. But enough is enough, and I’ve broken out into larger and more beautiful notebooks now. Because I’m worth it?!

julia lee 4

As for pens, that stubby 4-colour ballpoint wouldn’t suit me now. I prefer slim ones with fine points that write smoothly. A good gel pen can make even my scrawly handwriting look elegant, and a thin nib makes me think I’ll be able to draw accurately. I’m even quite fond of a classic yellow Bic, fine point, of course. On the whole, I like pens to be sleek and stylish, but I did give in to a novelty Christmas pen once, with a green felt tree and a bell on the end of each branch. After about two minutes writing with it I had to apologise to colleagues and stop, as the jingle bells were driving me – if not them – mad. It’s still there in my pen pot, though. My sleek, clear Perspex pen pot.

Thank you for sharing such fabulous goodies Julia!

If anyone has seen my Facebook photo of my creatively decorated desk,

You may have noticed the pens in my pen pot … totally impractical and never used 🙂

 

Julia grew up in London, studied English lit. at university, and has an MA in Creative Writing. She worked in education and for julia lee 6children’s charities, and has taught pre-schoolers and post-graduates. Her career has been a series of accidents, falling into jobs rather than choosing them, because all the time she really wanted to be a writer.

 

As Julia Widdows she has written prize-winning short stories and fiction and non-fiction for adults. Her novel Living In Perhaps (2009) is published by Black Swan.

Julia has two sons and lives in Sussex with her husband and an unhelpful cat.

Find her on Twitter @JuliaLeeAuthor

Julia Lee’s first book for children, The Mysterious Misadventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth, is published by Oxford University Press on 1st August 2013.

julia lee 7Clemency is utterly penniless and entirely alone, until she’s taken in by the marvellous Marvels – a madcap family completely unlike her own. But it’s a surprise to them all when she’s mysteriously bundled from the house by the frightening Miss Clawe.

Concerned about her fate, the Marvels set out to find her. Enlisting the help of some not-quite-genuine Red Indians, it’s a calamitous race across the country. But Clemency’s misadventures are more dire than her rescuers suspect . . . will they reach her in time?

A thrilling adventure mystery with skulduggery, magic, and dark family secrets.

|  Amazon Paperback  |  Amazon Kindle  |

 

 

12 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree : Stationery Love with Julia Lee

  1. We could be sisters! In fact – you’re my hero!
    Your little book is amazing, what a memento to keep. And yes to everything you say about notebooks!
    Do you remember when the 4 colour biro matured to TEN with pretty pinks, greens & purples added? I was gifted one at my 10th birthday party, with a sketch pad. Then proceeded to ask my mother if the guests could go home…it was time to draw!
    Fab notebooks! :))

  2. Oh yes! I remember the Lakeland coloured pencils -in a tin with a picture of the Lake District on the front. Do they still make them? I also remember begging for my mum’s Basildon Bond notepaper, but I really wanted to use the line guide that always came with it. Lovely notebooks : )

    • I don’t remember the coloured pencils Amanda but I do the pen!

      We used to have a stock of line guides in each classroom and they always remind me of Basildon Bond!

      Thanks for commenting today.
      Shaz

  3. LOVELY feature ~ possibly my favourite edition of Stationery Love Yet! Love the book ~ well done you for preserving it all this time. My kids have those little multi-coloured biros now, no idea where they came from but they love them. Great post, thanks, Julia and Shaz!

    • I love the book Nicky. Such a treasure.

      Pete’s been going through the loft and brought down all the vinyl records. My handwriting is on some of the sleeves (from my early teens). How laborious to write my e’s and a’s like that!

      Thanks for commenting today.
      Shaz
      x

  4. I remember those multi-coloured pens,so hard to do anything but draw with them.I loved my pencil case stuffed to bursting with pens.rubbers etc.I once had a brand new one with a world map on it stolen at school I was upset for a long time.
    I love your little book, what a lovely thing to have.

    • Must have been awful to have your pencil case stolen Anne! You can tell how it affected you because of your memory …

      Thanks for commenting today.
      Shaz

  5. Its not just me then. Whenever I go to the US I have to go to TK Maxx and buy lots of their beautiful Journals. I have one which I write my book reviews in; one I use as a travel journal and lots more that just sit there looking pretty.
    When my friend and I go shopping, she has a fixation with plastic tubs and dishes and I have one with stationery so always head to the stationery aisle. I love writing letters. I also cannot resist a Paperchase shop. What a nice addiction to have though.

  6. Pingback: Here be stories… | Julia Lee Author

  7. Reblogged this on Julia Lee Author and commented:
    As it is National Stationery Week I thought I’d reblog this piece from last summer(my first blog-post anywhere!). I dont know any wrietsr who are not more or less obsessed with stationery. Even though we’re highly reliant on techie bits and pieces these days, we’re still very partial to an inspiring notebook and a good pen. And so can pretend we’re Virginia Woolf sitting in her garden writing room at Monk’s House and finding the perfect phrase…

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

