Jera’s Jamboree : Guest Post Holly Hepburn

I’m delighted to be welcoming Holly Hepburn to Jera’s Jamboree today:

Holly

 

Holly Hepburn has wanted to be a writer since she was a little girl. As a child, she was always to be found with her nose in a book and still loves reading now. Her favourite authors include Jill Mansell, Miranda Dickinson and Jeffrey Deaver. In 2012, she was one of the ten finalists in the Harry Bowling Prize for New Writers. Cupidity is her first novella and she is working on a full length adult novel.

Holly is currently single and lives in London.

Blog-Background-20111-003

 

The Difficult Second Book

Pre-published writers won’t thank me for saying this but writing your first book is easy. You can take your time, craft each sentence lovingly and no one has any expectations that you’ll ever finish it. There’s no pressure to make it fit your ‘brand’ and no precedent to live up to. It’s your time with your book. Just the two of you.

Then you are published, whether by a traditional publisher or as an indie author, and everything changes. At first you don’t notice – you’re caught up in a whirl of promotion and reviews and congratulations. Then the question comes.  “What are you working on next?”

It sounds like an obvious thing to ask of a writer but the first time someone put the same question  to me, after the publication of Cupidity,  I was flummoxed. I’d only just released the book and they wanted to know what I was writing next? I waffled on a bit about a vague idea I had but it didn’t sound in the least bit promising, even to my ears and that’s when it hit me – it was the writers equivalent of the difficult second album. My next book would be harder to write, because Cupidity had done so well. People would be watching to see what I produced next. They would  have Expectations. They would be comparing my new book to my old book –  “It’s not as good,” they would whisper. They wouldn’t like it.

It took me a while to come to terms with this feeling of inadequacy. I’m happy to say that I did and have a couple of strong ideas about what I’d like to write next. But if I could have my time over again, I’d savour my pre-publication innocence a little more. Because from that point on, people will always want to know what you are working on next. And you’ll always worry it’s not as good.

Thank you for sharing an author’s perspective with us!

 

 

cupidity5bWhat if Cupid fell out of love with love?

Cupid is exhausted. Modern day matchmaking is tough – people are busy, their hearts are harder to hit and he’s had enough of wall-to-wall romance. And St Valentine has noticed…

Annelise is a Lost Cause. She runs a dating agency but her heart is colder than a penguin’s feet. She thinks love is about compatibility and has no time for passion.

Can Cupid prove to St Valentine that he hasn’t lost his touch by melting Annelise’s heart? Or is it curtains for Cupid?

Cupidity is #1 Amazon bestselling novella, and costs just 77p

If you like Sophie Kinsella, you’ll love Cupidity. 

‘Gorgeously romantic, unputdownable and utterly delicious!’ Miranda Dickinson, Sunday Times Bestseller (Fairytale of New York, It Started With A Kiss, When I Fall In Love)

‘A completely charming, fantastically funny, romantic romp, perfect reading for a sunny afternoon.’ Scarlett Bailey (Married by Christmas, The Night Before Christmas, Santa Maybe)

 

Link: http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00CNX8AJ0/

Author Links:

Website: http://hollyhepburn.com 

Twitter @HollyH_Author

7 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree : Guest Post Holly Hepburn

  1. Oh yes!! I can completely identify with this. I have one chapter to go (I think) on the second book and I almost daren’t finish it. Because then, after editing, etc., it will be *judged*. And what if it’s not as good as book one? The first book is definitely (in comparison) a bit of a honeymoon period…. 😉

    Thank you, Holly, for making me feel less alone! I’ll be downloading a Kindle sample next. 😉

  2. Joanna, ooh, good luck! I love that feeling, when you’re so close to the end you can almost taste it.

    Good to know I’m not alone in worrying people won’t like my next book, too!

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

