Jera’s Jamboree review : Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher

billyandmePaperback: 416 pages

Publisher: Penguin (23 May 2013)

Language: English

ISBN-10: 1405909951

ISBN-13: 978-1405909952

Sophie May has a secret.

One that she’s successfully kept for years. It’s meant that she’s had to give up her dreams of going to university and travelling the world to stay in her little village, living with her mum and working in the local teashop.

But then she meets the gorgeous Billy – an actor with ambitions to make it to the top. And when they fall in love, Sophie is whisked away from the comfort of her life into Billy’s glamorous – but ruthless – world.

Their relationship throws Sophie right into the spotlight after years of shying away from attention. Can she handle the constant scrutiny that comes with being with Billy? And most of all, is she ready for her secret heartbreak to be discovered and shared with the nation?

Blog-Background-20111-002

The prologue hooked me in.  Intrigue surrounded Sopie’s past – what happened to make her change from the extroverted primary aged child to the withdrawn and shy secondary school girl?  I enjoyed reading about the tea shop, Tea –on-the-Hill, with nurturing owner Molly.  I also enjoyed the scene where Sophie first meets Billy and I enjoyed the conflict when Billy’s manager, Paul, was involved (by the way, did I say I loved Molly’s character?)  The plot is well paced and believable.

Unfortunately though, from the point that Sophie and Billy met I lost interest.  I didn’t believe in Sophie and Billy’s relationship.  Even from their first romantic date in Rosefont Hill, I didn’t ‘feel’ it.  There was no zing, no pizzaz between them.  It was flat.  This coloured the whole story for me and because I couldn’t get into their relationship, I also couldn’t identify with Sophie. I had similar life experiences to Sophie when she was younger (no spoilers!) but even this didn’t hook me in to her character.

I know I am in the minority here, if you read the other reviews on Goodreads you will see many bloggers raving about Billy and Me.   However, I have to share my honest opinion otherwise I would lose the integrity I have for myself!

I was disappointed, having been hooked in by the prologue, and enjoyed Fletcher’s writing style, I was expecting to at least recommend my blog readers buy a copy for yourself.

Loan it from the library

Loan it from the library

I would like to thank the publishers for providing a copy in exchange for an honest review.

Stay up to date with the author on her blog at http://www.giovannasworld.com or on Twitter @mrsgifletcher

10 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree review : Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher

  1. Aw, Shaz ~ I feel your struggle. It’s really difficult to share a review when the book didn’t meet your expectations. Sometimes it just doesn’t click, but I guess that’s not to say that the book won’t be enjoyable to others. I for one am intrigued ~ I’ll be taking you up on your recommendation to get it out of the library. Thank you for your honesty and your candour and for sharing your thoughts in your kind and considerate manner. 🙂

  2. I passed on this for similar reasons. If only Giovanna was as good at writing books as her other half is at writing pop songs!

    • The plot itself was good Allie. Did you think that? I think the focus may have been too much on Sophie and her emotional scar rather than the relationship itself. Even when they were living in London together, before Billy’s live theatre took off, I didn’t feel the love they had for each other. I’ve been thinking some more and maybe even it wasn’t deep enough for me because their relationship was very simplistic (remember, this is only my opinion!)

      Thanks for commenting Allie.
      Shaz

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

