Jera’s Jamboree : Stationery Love with Joanna Gawn

learn_stationery_03_vector_154907

My guest on Stationery Love today is Joanna Gawn from writing duo The Lazuli Portals.

WELCOME!

Yes, that’s me. I’m that girl. The one you see in Staples, or near any stationery aisle, eyes sparkling and fingers twitching. Then reaching forward to stroke the paper, examine the pen, trace the design on the notebook and open to its fresh, virgin pages. Oooooh, it’s all so pretty!

When I write stories and novels, I type directly onto the laptop keyboard. I use scrap paper for “must remember” notes. So what do I need with another pen, another notebook, another sparkly pad? Ah, but you see stationery is like chocolate . . . you don’t really need it . . . do you?

001

Imagine my joy when I discovered my co-author, Ron, is just as entranced by stationery as I am! Christmas and birthday gifts are sooo easy lol. But joint trips to the online Vistaprint store for our business stationery could start to get expensive . . . especially now that they do notebooks as well!

005

With so many colours, textures, sparkles, and even scents, it’s hard to resist the pull of new stationery – and there’s a certain satisfaction in sitting with a gorgeous pen (or even a set, or two or three … ahem), and a brand new notebook of clear, empty pages just waiting to welcome the words!

002

So yes, that’s me: my name is Joanna and I am a stationery addict. Case closed.

Thank you for sharing your addiction with us today Jo.  
Oh no, I didn’t know Vistaprint did notebooks and ahem, I’ve just had a look…
 I was trying so hard not to visit their website!  
Joanna Gawn is an author, energy-healing practitioner and wife. She loves writing, reading, spreadsheets, National Trust gardens, and inspiring scenery. Dartmoor and Brittany are two of her favourite places. She and her husband are owned by two cats. Joanna is a chocoholic, and is also partial to cake.

Ron Dickerson is a Cornishman with a background in rugby, business and Round Table/Rotary; perhaps not the expected connections for writing spiritual adventure novels! He has a deep love of books and superb writing. He is an intuitive natural healer. He and his wife also have two cats.

Joanna and Ron are currently writing the sequel to The Cordello Quest, entitled Mosaic of Light. They also write short stories (published as ebooks), flash fiction and poetry.

Facebook 

Blog 

Twitter 

49 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree : Stationery Love with Joanna Gawn

  1. Thanks so much for your warm welcome here today. Shaz!

    Haha, I knew I could get you to mooch on Vistaprint again! Guess what, they sent me another offer email this morning….. *groans with temptation*

    Anyone else want to raise a hand to own up to their addiction? 😉

  2. Love your blog, I too was the girl in the stationery isles of W H Smith… I’m now the Sales Director of a stationery company in Doncaster..!!
    The perfect job for the perfect obsession..!
    @LyndaStacey

  3. Now THAT is a SERIOUS pen collection! Isn’t it amazing how many people are stationery lovers… there’s something about a nice, shiny, blank page…!

  4. Those pens sets look very smart, I’m green with envy, and the Lazuli Portals notebook – wow!!! Lovely stationery and thank you for sharing with us : )

    • See Amanda, you used colour in your expression ‘green with envy’. Perhaps Jo has something in her colour therapy with notebooks/journal covers!
      x

    • Thank you, Amanda! We designed the Lazuli Portals notebook based on an image offered by Vistaprint, and I must admit it’s very lovely. 🙂 Erm, I haven’t written in it yet, though! *blushes with shame*

      Thanks for reading. 🙂

  5. Fresh pages…mmm. I saw a brand new Pukka notepad (A4…yummy!) on my husband’s desk recently and actually had to fight myself to not either a) steal it, or b) write in it – even the first page would have done.
    And, oh! Vista print do notebooks?!
    Well, Jo, there are worse addictions!

    • Donna, I think I might have struggled as much as you obviously did, fingers twitching and itching to hold it to me or write in it. You are so strong-willed lol.

      Well, technically the Vistaprint (Lazuli Portals) notebook is a diary, but it still has a pretty cover and more-or-less blank pages (and was a free offer) … so, really, how could a girl refuse….????? 😉

      As for addictions, yes, you are right! 😉

  6. Yes, totally love stationery, have spent many happy moments in Paperchase. My friends often buy me notebooks as when I pen a novel or a big novel idea I write them in a fresh one, but the notebook has to ‘sing’ out to me from the selection I’ve cultivated! I love notebooks and each room in my flat has a colourful jar filled with pens and pencils. I also find sitting down with a handful of pencils and sharpening them therapeutic. Recently I’ve started picking up a rubber from NT or touristy place visits. Lol, I think I’m getting worse with age with this lark!

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

