Jera’s Jamboree : Author Interview Nicola May

Today I have great pleasure in welcoming Nicola May to Jera’s Jamboree.

Photo courtesy of author

Photo courtesy of author

Nicola May lives in Berkshire with Stanley the very naughty cat. She has a penchant for flapjacks, fine wine and crabbing in South Devon.The Bow Wow Club is her fifth novel and is the sequel to her bestselling debut novel Working it Out. She recently won an award at the Festival of Romance for her fourth novel The School Gates.

Connect with Nicola on her website.

wpblogheadercrop-006

Hi Nicola,

Please summarise your latest book in 20 words or less.

In this quirky romantic/black comedy, Ruby, after suffering an unexpected loss, volunteers at a bereavement support group.

What was the idea/inspiration for your novel?

I actually dated a widower and although he was lovely it was a really difficult thing to do as I could tell his late wife was always on his mind.  We eventually split up.

 If you could choose to be one of your characters in your books which would you be? and why?

It would have to be Ruby, the heroine of Working it Out and The Bow Wow Club. She’s feisty, funny, and gutsy. In fact, there is a little bit of her in all of us, I think. Or, we’d want there to be at least.

Do you have a favourite place  you go to for inspiration or a favourite activity?

I love to go for walks as the sun is coming up in Windsor Great Park. The wildlife at this time of the day is amazing. I walk & talk through plot ideas in my head.

Do you have a theme for your book covers?  Who designs them?

A silhouette theme seems to be running through my covers. I pick images from the internet & my good friend, who happens to be a designer, transforms them into the Nicola May brand.

Which authors have influenced your writing?

Marian Keyes, Carole Matthews & Milly Johnson. I also adore Patrick Gale for his humour & darkness.

Do you have a favourite book? Why?  What is it about that book?

Water Melon by Marian Keyes. I found my love of the chick lit genre on reading it, plus it gave me the inspiration to put pen to paper.

You’re self-published Nicola, are there any tips you could share with new writers that have worked well for you or was there something difficult you overcame?  How??

Social media is the self-publisher’s friend. You have to use it properly and not just as a hard selling tool and when you get it right it can be amazing. I glean so much knowledge from Twitter & have even been approached for book signings on the strength of it.

A difficulty I have is that it is hard to make a profit on paperbacks sold via distributors of major bookstores as they take such a big cut. Because of this I am leaning towards just selling online. This is so bitter sweet for me as I love bookshops and I love real books. But, with regards to making a living an e-book costs me nothing to create. Well apart from blood, sweat and tears of course!

What genre would you put your writing in? 

I label my writing – chick lit with a kick as I like to tackle issues that a lot of people reading may have gone through at some time. Through various different plot lines within my five novels I deal with bereavement, adoption, infertility, domestic violence, rape, infidelity and sexuality.

What is your WIP?

When I have recovered from the whirlwind of launching The Bow Wow Club on May 14th I am going to start the sequel to The School Gates. This book is very dear to my heart as it won me my first award at the Festival of Romance(congratulations on winning the award for Best Author Published)

Thank you for sharing with us today. Wishing you success with The Bow Wow Club

551359_10151622362249612_513359670_nRuby IS BACK and never expected to be starting over… …but after a shocking bereavement, she begins to question whether or not she will ever be happy again. A chance encounter with handsome author Michael Bell throws her fragile heart into turmoil. Plus, a dark family secret and completely unexpected love interest add to her confusion. Encouraged to face her demons, she volunteers at The Bow Wow Club – (Boyfriends of Widows, Wives of Widowers). You will laugh and cry along with a myriad of eccentric characters as Ruby searches for her inner peace. But will she let love win? Or allow her past to continue to haunt her?
JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

