Jera’s Jamboree : Guest Author Carol E Wyer ~ Carpe Diem

I have great pleasure in welcoming Carol E Wyer to Jera’s Jamboree today.

Photo courtesy of author

Photo courtesy of author

 

Carol E. Wyer is an award winning author whose humorous novels take a light-hearted look at getting older and encourage others to age disgracefully.

Her best-selling debut novel ‘Mini Skirts and Laughter Lines’ won five awards including Readers Views Reviewers Choice 2012 Award (category – humour) and was selected as a finalist for both the Next Generation Indie Book Awards and the Indie Excellence Awards 2012.

‘Surfing in Stilettos‘ which follows the further adventures of Amanda Wilson as she attempts to inject some fun into her life, is a Costa Award nominee.

Carol is a signed author with ThornBerry Publishing and Safkhet Publishing.

She writes regularly for on-line magazines and author website Indies Unlimited.

To learn more about Carol, go to http://www.carolewyer.co.uk or follow Carol on Twitter: @carolewyer. Carol blogs at http://www.facing50withhumour.com

curlicue_grating_whole

Carpe Diem …

My mother is full of little sayings including: “Life’s too short…”, “You’re only here once,” and “I’m here for a good time, not a long time.” I suppose some of that must have rubbed off on me. My mother is almost eighty and still insists on gallivanting about like a woman half her age, even though she has a large metal plate in her hip, smokes up to sixty cigarettes a day, parties all night, and according to her, “is held together by tar and alcohol”. She loves life, people and partying. I think that’s why even today she is up for a challenge, and why my jaw crashed to the floor last year when she told me that she was going to invite a male stripper to her next birthday party.

Life is full of opportunities and challenges. I am almost evangelical when I talk about grabbing those opportunities. I have blogged for almost three years about being positive about life, regaling my followers with stories about my family and laughing about getting older. I do the same in my books. One character who is loved more than all the others I write about, is Grace, Amanda’s mother in Mini Skirts and Laughter Lines and Surfing in Stilettos. Almost everyone adores her, her vivacity, her penchant for life and the absolutely crazy things she gets up to. She is, of course modelled on my own mother.

My own life has had its rocky moments, particularly in the health department. Because of those difficulties and a rather frightening experience which left me paralysed for some time, I became more determined to appreciate life. It was established in my thirties that my spine was weakening again quite severely. Unsure of how much longer I’d be able to enjoy reasonable health, I drew up a list of all the things that I wanted to do before it was too late for me to enjoy them.: scuba dive, fly a helicopter, take a champagne balloon ride, go on safari, ride a quad bike up a mountain, take up kick boxing, win a rowing race, drive a car on a proper racing circuit, and become a personal trainer.

By the end of my forties I had managed to complete the “active” list. All the activities were exhilarating and made me want to embrace further challenges. I drew up a fresh list for my fifties. One that took into account that I could no longer “breakdance” at a nightclub or climb Mount Everest. Top of my new list was to become a well-known author/entertainer. It has been a blast trying to get there. I am still some way off being well-known but I have enjoyed myself more on this journey than any others I have taken. Writing humour has allowed me to fulfil both of the aforementioned desires and when I am not writing I can be found “on tour” doing my stand up “Ageing Disgracefully” or “He who laughs…lasts!” tours. I have entertained people on board aircraft, during radio interviews and on television. It transpires that you can be a stand up comedienne in your fifties if you want to, after all.

The reason for me divulging this is quite simple. I want to state that no matter how old you are, or what your circumstances are there are always opportunities for you. Seek them out. If you want to be a writer but find the task of writing a full length novel too daunting, begin your writing career with some short stories and enter them for various contests. You can upload stories or first chapters to various groups or websites, free of charge such as, You Write On, where they will receive criticism from neutral sources and positive feedback. These comments will help you develop as a writer. If you, like me, worry that no one will like your stories, try them out in the form of blog posts. I did, and it was the best decision I made. The comments from followers gave me the motivation and encouragement I needed to write my novels.

You shouldn’t be fazed by anything. One of the good things about getting older is that you become bolder and are more open to challenges. You suddenly develop a “why not?” attitude. More and more people are taking up new challenges and opportunities regardless of their age or circumstance. So, what are you waiting for? Sign up for ballet classes, have a go at skydiving or sit down and start a novel. Whatever you decide to embark upon it should be fun and you should enjoy it. My mother would tell you that “life isn’t a rehearsal. So, seize the day – carpe diem.” I’m still dreading going to her next birthday party though!

Thank you Carol.

I hope blog readers have found inspiration from Carol’s guest post today.  I know I have!

Surfing in Stilettos is touring with Fiction Addiction Book Tours.

Follow the two week tour to read guest posts, interviews and reviews.

 Enter the giveaway to win some fabulous swag (stiletto/handbag handcrafted chocolates, stiletto keyring, gorgeous pink stiletto tape dispenser and copies of Surfing in Stilettos).

surfingstilletos

25th March 2013

Me, My Books and I

26th March 2013

Sylv Jenkins

27th March 2013

Cosmochicklitan

28th March 2013

Brook Cottage Books

29th March 2013

Reading a Little bit of Everything

1st April 2013

ChickLit Club Connect

2nd April 2013

Sylv Jenkins

3rd April 2013

Love Reading Love Books

4th April 2013

Shaz’s Book Blog

5th April 3013

The Little Reader Library

36 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree : Guest Author Carol E Wyer ~ Carpe Diem

  1. Pingback: Jera’s Jamboree : Guest Author Carol E Wyer ~ Carpe Diem | Facing 50 with humour.

  2. What an inspiration! Reading your interview is just what I needed to hear on this cold, wet Monday morning, when I’m beginning to think about giving up on this writing lark. Back to the pen and notebook!

  3. Always a pleasure to read about your motivation, Carol. And thank you to you, Jera, for hosting one of the smartest and sassiest lady writers out there!

  4. What an inspiring post, it’s so easy to get bogged down by life especially when it doesn’t go as you’d hoped. I shall be seizing the day today for sure 🙂

    • There are days when you feel “bleurgh!” I have a new trick, one that annoys Hubby but always works, whistle “Always Look On the Bright Side of life” by Monty Python. Even when you feel rotten it eventually makes you smile. Keep seizing that day. My mum is!

  5. OOOOH Carol, loveya! “I’m here for a good time,” I love that. And the whole carpe diem attitude (ever since I first saw The Dead Poet’s Society!). What a brilliant, uplifting and inspiring feature, thank you!

    • You are such a super person. Thank you so much for your comment. I haven’t seen that film yet! (What a confession for me to make in public!) I want something like that saying on my tombstone when I’m gone too, Nicky. Something like “Damn…is it over already?”

  6. Love you AND your mum!! I’m pretty sure we’re related. Tell her I said “Hi”!! Carpe Diem was my mother-in-law’s mantra, too–she died at the age of 88.

    • We love you too. I’m convinced that you are related…probably twins given you behave so similarly. She’s partying in Cyprus at the moment but I’ll send her a text and pass on your “Hi!”. The last time we spoke she had just come back from a long lunch and was getting ready for a night on the town. Carpe Diem certainly seems the way to think and behave. xx

  7. Not sure about the ballet classes, Carol – it’s me,, remember? Do you really want me hobbling about on ten broken toes? As for the rest, I’m with you, girl. Let’s do it, disgracefully if needs be! Fab post, m’dear. 🙂 xx

  8. Just popped in to say how much I enjoyed reading your blog. I found it so inspirational and I totally agree that you must seize the day and do all those things you want to do in life. I believe in the ‘Why Not’ attitude also because that is the best attitude.

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

