Jera’s Jamboree : Guest Author Imran Siddiq

Today I would like to welcome Imran Siddiq to Jera’s Jamboree

Photo courtesy of author

Photo courtesy of author

Imran Siddiq may have tried to leave Leicester a few times, but its become his place to wake up to two cats, freeze when the heating’s off and most of all, get down to writing. At the age of 29, during a night in the jungle, the bug inside awakened, and for the last 5 years he’s been sacrificing every second that he can to write. A veteran of writing festivals, a presence on Twitter and gobbling up all forms of Star Wars and Lord of the Rings, he hopes he can bring a smile to others. Imran’s preferred genre is YA Sci Fi, and he has a tendency to throw a droid in every novel – literally throw.

curlicue_grating_whole

Do Robots have a place in my novels?

I adore fantasy novels and movies, but deep down, my true adrenaline-pumped is Science-Fiction. And that explains why I write YA Science Fiction/Romance.

The direction a writer can take with Science Fiction is beyond what the term diverse signifies. Heck – there are so many alternate routes other than the traditional space opera that dominated in the late 1970s/early 1980s, it is a rich genre to be in. There are hundreds of ingredients that can be used, and not all are necessary, except a slight reality check to ensure it does’t slip into fantasy.

An ingredient that appeals to me are the inclusion of droids.

I know… it sounds cliche. But I believe the method of how you include them can make them an interesting plot/subplot/character.

Let’s jump back in time to 1983, when I saw Star Wars Episode IV for the first time. I was mesmerised. Hooked. Hypered. Lucas’d. I could’t get enough. I had to get me some Star Wars toys… heck – I was 5 at the time. Of all the characters I could have got, which one do you think I went for, bearing in mind they all cost the same regardless of size? R2-D2.

Why?

Because he was for the me the unsung hero who helped make things happen. Yup – even at the age of 5, I saw the influence that astromech droid possessed. I saw that the character didn’t have to be larger than life. It didn’t have to have the big moments, or be the scene stealer. No – all it needed to do, was be there, and when called upon, make the right choice.

In each of my novels, including the 6th I’m writing, there is a droid. Whether it be a walking mechanoid, a talking tablet, a human-looking android, or the controller of a room, they are there to provide an important role that no human character could provide.

They also allow me to bring light relief into scenes because robots don’t always know when to shut up, or when to resist giving advice to someone who is in an emotional state.

In my debut e-book/paperback due Feb 22, you’ll be introduced to Patch, the Haulage-404 Labour Droid. He’s not in a good state; in fact – he’s missing limbs and has one working eye. But what he offers my protagonist is a sounding board. He offers guidance and words of wisdom that a 16 year-old doesn’t get off his dad. In some ways, Patch becomes the father figure.

For me, the cliche is having murderous robots, taking over the world, wanting to harm their creators. I like to make them in touch with their human colleagues, and to offer a voice that, though jerky, helps the plot move along.

Don’t be put off novels that involve a robot/droid/toaster – they have a tale to tell too.

Thank you for sharing with us today Imran. Patch sounds like an intriguing character.  

Blog readers, what do you think about robots in novels?

!cid_4C1D061E-152E-4098-BE47-71BA534B3194@home

Disconnect (Divided Worlds #1)

Even in space, love has boundaries

If all the Underworld has to offer is dodging junk and digging within filthy sewers then life is fast approaching a worthless state for Zachary, a 16-year old scavenger. Except one day, he discovers the imagery of a girl from Overworld that pulls his desire in wanting to know why she sounds so sad with her lavish lifestyle.

Zachary will seize the chance to meet her, and although hatred builds, with time, friendship and something he’s never felt, even for his parents, will grow.

Though nothing unbelievable can last without harm. The rulers of Overworld have plans for the Research Base that orbits Jupiter’s moon, Europa, and Underworld stands in the way.

Zachary must overcome boundaries and climb from darkness to light, but in doing so, he’ll uncover a twisted secret that may devour his new reason to live; Rosa.

I’m sure my blog readers will join in wishing Imran success with his debut novel and his writing journey.

Find out more about Imran on his website.

You can Tweet with Imran @Flickimp

and connect with him on Facebook

4 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree : Guest Author Imran Siddiq

  1. Pingback: Imran Writes » Guest Post on Robots in Disconnect

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

