Jera’s Jamboree : Guest Author Linn B Halton

Hitting the ground running in 2013! When life is stranger than fiction…

Well, I always start off a new year with a list of objectives and goals. The list for 2012 was impossible, but hey, I managed to tick off everything, with one exception. That was to release the last of the five manuscripts I penned when I gave up my career to write, in March 2009. However, there was a good reason for that and Never Alone is being released on 16 January 2013!

The reason for the delay was quite simply because I ended up releasing an ebook of my debut novel, Touched By The Light, and that wasn’t on my original list! But it was something I had wanted to do since it was published in hardback only in February 2011. Because of the price (£16.99) it made it virtually ‘invisible’ to most readers and it wasn’t until my contract ended that I was able to get it out there at an affordable price as an ebook.

I’m a great believer in fate though and I truly believe the delay was for a good reason. As a new author I had to hit the ground running and getting five books out there in less than two years is a tough target. Even with the amazing Sapphire Star Publishing contracting two of my books – The Quintessential Gemini and The Restaurant @ The Mill, it’s been a huge learning curve. However, I enjoy the mix of being both traditionally published and self-pubbed at the same time.

Self-publishing is hard work. You do everything yourself. In October 2012 I had just finished setting up a cover reveal tour amongst author and book reviewer friends, for Never Alone. It’s very time-consuming and the next task was to plan the launch – then Fiction Addiction Book Tours burst onto the scene! Run by my great friend and wonderful reviewer, Sharon Goodwin, it was the answer to a prayer. I run three websites as well as having a writing career and it’s been crazy busy ever since I sat down and wrote that first word! I was thrilled to be able to ‘hand over’ arranging the launch Book Tour to Shaz whilst I coped with getting the final edits done to release the advance review copies. The result – A Fiction Addiction Virtual Blog Tour commencing 16 January 2013!

Never Alone is a romance story with a twist. Read on to find out what it’s all about. But first I’d like to share a little ‘secret’ with you! The fun thing about being an author is that you can be self-indulgent when you write. I often find it difficult to ‘let go’ of side characters. They have a part to play in a story that doesn’t centre around them, but that doesn’t make them any less interesting! In this story we meet a young woman named Holly and her parents naturally have a small part to play. Isobel and David are caring parents, doting on their daughter, but I also felt they too had a story to tell. So in one of my other novels, The Restaurant @ The Mill (published by Sapphire Star Publishing) theirs is one of the six stories based around a rather special place to dine! It turns out they did have a love story all of their own…

Now let me tell you a little bit about Never Alone:

Holly Atherton has a seemingly perfect life, until suddenly it all beings to unravel. She has spent her life living up to other people’s expectations of her, trying to please them.

She has it all – the affluent family who dote on her, a job she loves in her father’s business, and the perfect boyfriend. Will is a successful entrepreneur and they are about to start enjoying a lifestyle many can only dream about. His latest business deal will see them with homes in the UK and Los Angeles.

But what if you wake up one morning and find yourself wondering whether the path you are on is the one you are supposed to be taking? Is she too caught up in pleasing her parents and Will to take her future into her own hands?

When Holly’s psychic sensitivity begins to surface she doesn’t know how to handle it. Vivid dreams seem too real to ignore and she finds herself ‘talking’ to Nick, the recently deceased brother of her best friend, Celia.

Just having someone to whom she can offload what she’s feeling helps and she feels happier moving forward with Will into their exciting new future and all seems well… but, of course, life is never that simple…

Thank you so much for being a fabulous host ShazFiction Addiction Book Tours has hit the ground running – and I’m thrilled to be one of your first customers! Wishing you all the success in the world.

(Thank you Linn! Fiction Addiction Book Tours is looking forward to supporting the magical journey of your words around the world)

To find out more about author Linn B Halton:

Website
A loveahappyending.com author
Signed by:http://www.sapphirestarpublishing.com/linnbhalton
Twitter: @LinnBHalton
Facebook: Linn B Halton
Romantic Novelists’ Association page

Amazon.co.uk (buy)
Amazon.com (buy)

20 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree : Guest Author Linn B Halton

  1. HUGE congratulations on everything you’ve achieved, Linn. I really have no idea where you get the energy from. I really enjoyed The Restaurant and The Quint and I can’t wait for Never Alone. Looking forward to the launch, and congrats to Shaz on setting up blogtours. Awesome ~ you are the dream team! XX

  2. Fab to be here with the lovely Shaz! My secret is out … I just can’t have loose ends and I like my stories to have a happyending – even if it is usually with a twist! Waves to cassam101 – thank you so much! Hi to Nicky – rock chic author and some! What I didn’t say is that for 2013 I have no resolutions at all – first time ever. I’ve decided I’m going to let the year take me where it wants … eek! Hope YOUR 2013 is fab one and all!

  3. Oooh, you’ll love The Restaurant @ The Mill! I’m with you on the fate taking you where it wants to, Linn. Just going with the flow this year. Also with you on getting all those books out there. I’m writing my 5th WIP now *scrapes self off floor*. Thank God for Fiction Addiction Book Tours! Yay! LOVE THAT COVER! 🙂 xx

  4. What an exciting and inspiring post. Congratulations Linn on the upcoming launch of Never Alone and on ALL that you managed to acheive in 2012. It’s amazing! I’ve got a feeling that during 2013 you’ll be able to enjoy the rewards of all that hard work. I loved The Restaurant @ The Mill and the Quint… and have your debut on my Kindle next to read – just in time for Never Alone.

    And congrats Shaz on setting up Fiction Addiction Blog Tours!

    Janice xx

  5. Pingback: As the end of launch day approaches … «

  6. Pingback: Fiction Addiction Book Tours : Tour details for Never Alone by Linn B Halton «

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

