Jera’s Jamboree : Book Signing with local author Shalini Boland

I was excited to be invited via Facebook to local author Shalini Boland’s book signing at The Barn Cafe, Bere Farm.  Having missed her previous book signing at Waterstone’s, this was another chance I was determined NOT to miss!

scan0001

As soon as we arrived I was enveloped in a hug, no ice-breaking needed 🙂

Shalini was still setting up so Peds and I went off to have a hot drink in the venue.

IMAG0036-1

Of course we talked about books, writing and blogging … but meeting Shalini was much more than that.  I felt very comfortable chatting and we found out that at one point we had almost lived on each other’s doorstep!

DSCI0722

Shalini’s book signing was a family affair.  It was great to meet her husband Pete and her sons.  Pete is also an author and his debut novel is being released in January.

All signed - whoop!

All signed – whoop!

I need to make space in one of my bookcases 🙂

DSCI0727

The venue, The Barn Cafe, was a very unique experience!

391543_498952933463955_1227823902_n

As well as owner Karen chatting to customers and making you feel welcome, the decor is amazing.

556655_498902550135660_1034768868_n

Food and beer is from local sources

553703_498901706802411_166987113_n

and surrounding the courtyard in the barns you’ll find vintage and antique French furniture (we found all sorts of interesting things) from Begere Home Interiors.

319458_498953926797189_1160522290_n

Not only did I get to meet one of my favourite authors today (who I’ll be having coffee with soon)

DSCI0720

 I’ve also found somewhere local that has great energy, where I’ll be sampling local produce and enjoying the company 🙂

 

You can read my reviews of Shalin’s YA novels here.

Shalini is releasing the second novel in The Outside Series (YA Post-Apocalyptic) in January.  Find out more about Book One on Goodreads

DSCI0717

Shalini can be found tweeting, on Facebook or you can catch up with her news on her website.

 

The Barn Cafe on Facebook

 

The Barn Cafe website

11 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree : Book Signing with local author Shalini Boland

  1. Aw, so glad you shared this, Sharon! I would have loved to have been there and met you both in person, so photos are the next best thing!
    Shalini, I’ve only ever seen photos of you with a fringe – you look very different now!
    I love the idea of a warm, welcoming cafe for a book launch / signing. That’s giving me ideas for our next . . . that you had the family there too was extra-special.
    FAB. 🙂

  2. Hi Shaz, What a fab post! I was so thrilled you came along and that I finally got to meet you!!

    Hi Jo, Nicky and Lindsay *waves*

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

