Jera’s Jamboree : Guest Author Susan Buchanan

I’m welcoming author Susan Buchanan to Jera’s Jamboree today.

Photo courtesy of author

Photo courtesy of author

Susan Buchanan lives in Central Scotland with her partner, Tony. The Dating Game is her second novel, released 2nd Nov 2012. Sign of the Times, her first novel, was published in Mar 2012. She will shortly start work on her third novel, due for release Spring 2013.

Here exclusively is Susan Buchanan talking about The Dating Game:

The idea for The Dating Game came from a friend who had joined a dating agency for professional people in Glasgow. Although none of the escapades or experiences Gill has in The Dating Game are those my friend had, the seed was sown! How does a busy, career-oriented woman in her late thirties, find a guy, and not only a guy, but the right guy? I wanted the relationships she had had and the dates she would have, to be as realistic as possible. As I love travelling, I always incorporate at least one foreign country into my books. You’ll have to read The Dating Game to find out where it is!

When I read, I love to read books about foreign parts that I have visited – it immerses me more in the story. I wanted to do the same in my own novels. I love reading, always have – romantic fiction, crime, contemporary drama, pretty much everything.

curlicue_grating_whole

I asked Sooz to share with us her thoughts on Christmas and how she celebrates.

Thanks for having me on your blog today, Sharon. Christmas is just around the corner, so it makes perfect sense to have a wee blether about that. I was on holiday a few weeks ago. I usually go in January, once Christmas is over and we have nothing to look forward to but the depressing Scottish wind and rain, but this year we went earlier. So up until Tuesday when I got back, I didn’t feel remotely Christmassy and believe me, I can feel Christmassy early, as long as it’s not pre-Halloween, which is, let’s face it, just downright ridiculous.

In recent years, I have been lucky enough to witness my young nephews opening their presents. The joy on their wee faces, when they tell you Santa has been and before they are allowed to get started on opening their presents, but can see them under the tree , is immeasurable. How great it would be if we could bottle that!

I usually have all my presents bought by the end of November, but this year, I am a little behind. I prefer to really think about what the person might like, but some people (like my other half) are just a nightmare to buy for. And it always falls to me to come up with ideas and buy not only my presents but those for family members from other family members. No pressure!

I love Christmas cards and hanging them up on lengths of string in the living room. Christmas isn’t Christmas if you haven’t had to retrieve the cards from down the back of the sofa, where they have fallen!

Generally speaking I am the first person to send cards, right at the beginning of December, but this year I am late, starting only on the 7th. Panic stations, as I start to examine last posts to the US and Europe, plus try to think which friends I will be seeing over the next few weeks, who I can just hand the cards to!

Now my least favourite part of Christmas is wrapping presents. I used to actually pay my wee brother to wrap my presents, as he is a shark at it! My other half is also exceptionally good, but has a weird sense of humour and thinks it’s fun to wrap the present in its exact shape, so no surprise if you got a teddy bear or a football! I seriously suck at wrapping. Usually by the twentieth present I  have got the hang of it, but those poor friends and relatives who got presents 1-19, well, sorry for the presentation…

Christmas is about family and although I don’t yet have any kids of my own, I am a big kid. Until 2 years ago when I started spending Christmas Day with my other half, Tony, I used to rush to my parents on Christmas Eve and spend the day watching Christmas films with my dad – something I had always done and I did that right up until I was 37!  The Grinch and Miracle on 34th St are particular favourites. Now I just do it at home!

On Christmas Day, rather than hope for a white Christmas, I always hope it’s  not, as our driveway slopes downwards and two years ago my brother almost poured a tureen of soup (the starter he had made for us) all over the drive as he slid down it, trying to walk towards my front door!

As well as having the family Christmas dinner, now that there are more members in our family than ever before, we tend to split it and have splinter groups on Christmas Day to make things more manageable. Then we meet up on 26th or 27th to do it all again, but this time almost all of us together.

I absolutely love Christmas, from the tree, to the turkey, to the tinsel and the carol singing. I really feel that Joe Public is less nasty at Christmas and that it really is the season of goodwill. There’s nothing nicer than a complete stranger wishing you a Merry Christmas as you walk down the street.

Decorating the tree is one of my favourite things. I have travelled a lot and I collect Christmas decorations, so every year I have to choose which ones make the grade this year. I bought a new one a few weeks ago, a ceramic seahorse, from the Isle of Arran.

Christmas and the December celebrations are always more enjoyable for me, as I am Sagittarius and my birthday is on the 16th December, only 9 days before Christmas. This year is particularly important as it’s my 40th, so celebrations started on the 22nd November with various friends and family and will continue until the 17th! A week’s rest and then we will hear the jingle of Santa’s sleigh!

Whatever you are all doing for Christmas, I hope you have a great time and a lot of fun, Sooz

Thank you for sharing with us Sooz.  I have to agree with you about Joe Public being more amenable at this time of year!

Happy 40th Solar Return for the 16th 🙂 

Sooz has written two novels:

Copy of sott3_72dpiSign of the Times

Format: Kindle Edition
File Size: 604 KB
Print Length: 373 pages
Publisher: Susan Buchanan; 1 edition (16 Mar 2012)
Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
Language: English
ASIN: B007LM0KY6

Twelve people. Twelve star signs.

Sagittarius – Holly, a travel writer, visits Tuscany to research her next book. Seeking help when her car breaks down, she gets more than assistance when Dario, a vineyard owner, puts temptation in her path. Disappearing without explanation, he proves elusive. Bruised, Holly tries to put it behind her until a chance encounter brings her feelings to the surface again.

Capricorn – Holly’s fiancé, Tom misses her while she is in Italy and turns to an internet chat room for solace. His construction business is under threat, but could foul play be at work?

Gemini – Holly’s sister, Lucy, a serial man-eater finally meets her match, which puts her long-term relationship and career in jeopardy. Cheating she discovers, can have devastating consequences.

Libra – Holly’s uncle Jack, an eminent prosecutor, juggles a difficult teenage son with his high profile career and finds himself lacking. When his son’s school work starts slipping, he decides he needs to take control, but it’s not long before the balls all come tumbling down and Jack finds his family on the wrong side of the law.

One event binds them all…

Author links to purchase:

UK and US

curlicue_grating_whole

thedatinggameThe Dating Game

Format: Kindle Edition
File Size: 654 KB
Publisher: Susan Buchanan (29 Oct 2012)
Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.
Language: English
ASIN: B009Z2QPT4

Workaholic recruitment consultant, Gill McFadden, is sick of her friends trying to match-make for her. Up until now her love life has been a disaster and she’s going through a drier spell than the Sahara desert.
She realises she has to act, as work keeps piling up and at this rate she will have retired before she has time for a relationship.
Seeing an ad on a bus one day, she decides to visit Happy Ever After dating agency. She quickly discovers men are like buses. They all come along at once. Unsure what her type is, Gill decides to keep her options open. Soon she has problems juggling her social life as well as her work diary. Will she ever strike the right balance?
Before long she is experiencing laughs, lust and… could it be love? But like everything in Gill’s life, nothing is straightforward and she ends up wondering exactly who she can trust.

Author links to purchase:

UK and US

Find out more about Sooz and keep up to date on her blog.

Find her on Twitter @Susan_Buchanan

and Facebook


					
4 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree : Guest Author Susan Buchanan

  1. So great to find someone else who doesn’t like wrapping … I tend to buy presents that are square or oblong as it makes it easier (laugh!)… how sad is that? Lovely interview Shaz, really nice to find out all about Susan’s Christmas!

  2. I tend to use gift bags, but sometimes, eg for kids, wrapping paper is better, from the ripping off point of view. Thanks for commenting, Linn, and thanks for having me on your blog, Sharon.

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

