Jera’s Jamboree : Guest Author Carole Matthews

Today, as part of the blog tour to celebrate the release of With Love at Christmas, I have great pleasure in welcoming Carole Matthews to Jera’s Jamboree.

Carole is sharing with readers how she is a convert to all things Christmas.

I Wish it Could be Christmas Everyday

 ‘I Wish it Could be Christmas Everyday!’ So sang Roy Wood of Wizzard and thus earned himself a nice little pension for the foreseeable future. It used to drive me nuts that the Christmas songs would start playing in the shops somewhere around the middle of August, that the aisles of Tesco would fill with mince pies from July onwards. I was about as ‘bah humbug’ as it got and always used to say that I’d be happy if Christmas was only once every five years. Once a year was far too often.

Then, two years ago, at the behest of my new publisher, Little, Brown, I started to write Christmas themed books. As I write two books a year, they thought it would be a cunning plan to write one summery book and one Christmassy one. Who was I to argue? I didn’t point out to them that I wasn’t exactly the biggest fan of Christmas.

So started my quest to embrace the Christmas spirit. My first Christmas book, Wrapped up in You, was written during the summer months. Despite that, the minute I put pen to paper (or, more accurately, finger to keyboard) my mince pie craving kicked in immediately. For the first time, I was immensely relieved that Mr Kipling bakes mince pies in July! I couldn’t wait for Christmas to come round so that I could see my book on the shelves. I was maddened that some shops were as tardy as October when they started to gear up for Christmas!

With my second book, With Love at Christmas, my festive gene has gone into overdrive. I’m as much as a Christmas addict now as my heroine, Juliet Joyce. Our house is already full of sparkly and spangly things. I’m having not one, but two trees this year! All my decorations are bought. As are my cards and wrapping paper. I’m eyeing up the festive foods in supermarkets. I’d have the tree up already, but Lovely Kev is stubbornly refusing to start Christmas until it is…er…well… Christmas!

You might not want to go as far as writing a Christmas-themed book to get you in the mood for Christmas nice and early, but I’d highly recommend that you read them!

      Happy Christmas everyone! Erm, maybe that is a bit too early.

Paperback: 496 pages
Publisher: Sphere (25 Oct 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0751545481
ISBN-13: 978-0751545487

Can the imperfect family really have the perfect Christmas?

Juliet Joyce adores Christmas. She loves the presents, the tree, the turkey, the tinsel, everything. Already the festive spirit is upon her, which is just as well as this Christmas things are starting to get out of hand.

Her son Tom is out of work and bringing home a slew of unsuitable partners; pregnant daughter Chloe and her little boy have moved back in; Juliet’s father, Frank, is getting over a heartbreak of his own and Rita, her eccentric mother, is behaving more erratically each day. And has the chaos got too much for Juliet’s husband Rick?

With the big day fast approaching, Juliet hopes that she can stop everything spiralling out of control, because the only thing she wants is her family all around her and her home to be filled

WITH LOVE AT CHRISTMAS.

I was fortunate to meet Carole recently at the Sherborne Literary Festival and was not disappointed.  She is an inspiring lady.

You can keep up to date with Carole’s news on her website (sign up for her newsletter for offers and competitions too), follow her on Twitter and Facebook.

7 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree : Guest Author Carole Matthews

  1. Carole, I *love* Christmas. Probably something to do with the fact that my birthday falls just before, so December has always been a magical time for me. But I love the lights and the deocrations and the cakes and the singing and coming home to a warm house filled with the scents of baking and pine and candles. “I wish it could be Christmas everyday” is one of my favourite rock Christmas anthems!!! When I was young and free and single, I used to initiate Christmas celebrations in my house from November 1st. My OH thinks that’s a bit extreme so I’ve been banned until December 1st, or the start of Advent, whichever is the soonest. But I’m tellin’ ya, I can’t wait. And now I have a crackig book to read as well… Can’t wait to get stuck into With Love at Christmas! Congrats and …. *whispers, as it’s only November 14* Merry Chrismas to you! x

  2. I wasn’t actually feeling very Christmas-y until I read this. Now, however, I feel a shopping spree coming on … [wanders off humming ‘the holly and the ivy, when they are both full grown…’

  3. Great Christmassy post! I’ve started pressie-shopping and we have mountains of cards and wrap in stock from previous years – but I do prefer to keep the food at arm’s length until 1 December (to my husband’s distress!)

    I’ve downloaded a Kindle sample of With Love at Christmas and look forward to reading it. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Jera’s Jamboree review : With Love at Christmas by Carole Matthews | Jera's Jamboree

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

