Jera’s Jamboree review: The Lost Soul by Suzy Turner

The Lost Soul (The Raven Saga) by Suzy Turner

Format: Kindle Edition

File Size: 368 KB

Print Length: 226 pages

Publisher: Suzanne Turner Publishing (21 Mar 2012)

Sold by: Amazon Media EU S.à r.l.

Language: English

ASIN: B007NHUEAO

December and Lilly have got their work cut out for them. Not only are they desperately trying to figure out the identity of the Lost Soul, and track him down, they’ve also got to investigate why Powell River’s newest resident has got all of their men falling at her feet.
But when they learn that the Nephilim might be involved, it becomes clear that they’re all in extreme danger…

 

The Lost Soul is the final book in The Raven Saga trilogy which is targeted at a Young Adult audience.

You can read how I found out about indie author Suzy Turner and read my review of Raven (the first in the trilogy) on my blog here.

The second book in the trilogy December Moon was one of my Top Ten Fiction reads for 2011.  An e-copy was provided by Suzy for me to review this time.  You can read my review here.

As soon as I saw Suzy tweet that The Lost Soul was available to purchase I was first in line to buy my Kindle copy.

The final book opens with a man who has been unconscious and wakes to realise that he’s  laying with rotting corpses.  He’s in a deep ditch and has no recollection of who he is and how he got there.  He sees what he thinks is a hummingbird who tells him “You will be safe.  Do not worry.”  And so the adventure begins …

All the way through this story we have action … with December and her headaches and finding out this is a result of ‘the lost soul’ trying to contact her; the vampires trying to find Duran’s legacy he left behind; the man who opens the story who has a quest of his own that runs parallel to those in Powell River and the devastation caused by the new resident.

The way new characters tie up with history/old characters in the book is brilliant.  The strands all weave together so that we realise there is nothing that happens in isolation but is part of the whole story.  The characters all behave as we would expect them to from the previous books so we have continuation.  I absolutely loved the appearance from a certain angel … My notes say ‘OMG it’s …’ even before he was named 🙂

There were a couple of surprises for me – the new resident of Powell River, Calliope.  I had my suspicions about her at the funeral but didn’t guess who she was.  I also didn’t guess who the lost soul was until it was there in black and white!

I have two favourite scenes.  One is when the Tulugaq family all realise their heritage – made me shiver.  The other is when Ruby (the ghostly mother) finds her love.  I had tears in my eyes!

You could read The Lost Soul as a standalone because it is a different quest and we are told what the characters are.  You would be missing out on the background of the characters though and the journey they’ve been on to get where they are.

For me, the final quest of The Raven Saga brought it all together.  I will miss this world!

Buy it but be loathe to share your copy … it’s a keeper!

Catch up with Suzy on her website and blog.  Suzie has an author Facebook page and she tweets.

The Raven Saga is available to purchase Kindle format on Amazon ~ under £1 for each book!

Suzy Turner on Amazon

I’ll leave you with one of my poems that is relevant to the Tulugaq family:

JOURNEY

Feet are solid 
On the ground 
Dust is swirling 
Round and round

 

Rooted, grounded 
Sacred space 
Sounds are growing 
Cello, bass

 

Energy entwining 
Above, below 
Flowing, merging 
Transformation slow

 

Tempest howling 
Earth steady 
Energy growing 
Physical body ready

 

Casting off shape 
Form is a blur 
Metamorphosis, streamline 
Feathers and fur

 

Hunting the field 
Scaling the height 
Snuffling the underbrush 
Soaring in flight

 

Freedom, fluid 
The web is strumming 
Carefree, unbound 
Daylight is coming

 

Remembrance, pulling 
A drawing down 
Reverence, reluctance 
Cold wind blown

 

The beating heart 
The senses reeling 
Stretching, tingling 
Awkwardness, feeling

 

Joy in memory 
Warm blood, taste 
Physical body 
Is not in haste

 

The wind is quiet 
The moon is low 
Birds are singing 
The horizon aglow

 

A blessing received 
Sustenance given 
Time to leave 
Inspired ……. driven 

4 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree review: The Lost Soul by Suzy Turner

  1. WOW Shaz!! I’m speechless… thank you so much for such a fabulous review and then your poem almost made me cry (happy tears!). I’m so delighted that you enjoyed the final book as much as the others. What a GREAT start to my weekend! Thank you! 🙂 xxx

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

