Blog Tour: Daniela Sacerdoti – Sarah’s Music

I’d like to welcome Daniela Sacerdoti to Jera’s Jamboree today.

Dreams is the first part in the Sarah Midnight trilogy and is published 17th May by Black & White Publishing

You’d never think it could happen to you. You’d never think that one day you’d stand in a graveyard, rain tapping on a sea of black umbrellas, watching your parents being lowered into the earth, never to come back. It’s happening to me. They said it was an accident. Only I know the truth. My parents were hunters, like their parents and grandparents before them, hundreds of years back, scores of ancestors behind me, fulfilling the same call. I must follow in their footsteps. I am the only one left to keep the promise. I can never give up the fight, this fight that has been handed down to me, thrust upon my unwilling shoulders. I’d rather be buried with my parents, my brave, fierce father and mother, who lived and died by the Midnight motto: Don’t Let Them Roam.’ — Ever since her thirteenth birthday, seventeen-year-old Sarah Midnight’s dreams have been plagued by demons – but unlike most people’s nightmares, Sarah’s come true. Her dreams guide her parents’ hunt as Sarah remains in bed, terrified but safe, sheltered from the true horrors of the Midnight legacy. But all this is about to change. After the murder of her parents, she is cruelly thrust into a secret world of unimaginable danger as she is forced to take up their mission. Alone and unprepared for the fight that lies before her, Sarah must learn how to use the powers she’s inherited and decide whom to trust before it’s too late…

Today, Daniela is sharing with readers a post all about music:

Music is a huge part of my creative process. It inspires me, it focuses me, it keeps me going when my mind is tired. Many stories of mine were born of music, both from tunes and from lyrics. I know that some writers can’t concentrate with music on; they need silence to “listen to the voices”, like Susie Maguire eloquently put it. For me, it’s the opposite: silence distracts me, my thoughts start wandering – music keeps me tethered to my inspiration. Also, it often happens that I write with my two boys playing in the house or in the garden – in that case, I need something to drown them out!

Dreams has a “booktrack” – a book soundtrack. When I was writing it I listened to Julie Fowlis nearly all the time – I can get pretty obsessive with my music! Julie is a Gaelic singer from North Uist in the Outer Hebrides, and with Sarah’s family being from Islay, I thought she was perfect to listen to while writing Sarah’s story. In my head, Julie’s voice became Sarah’s voice, especially this song, Hùg Air A’ Bhonaid Mhòir. 

Julie Fowlis (supplied by the author)

When I finished Dreams, I really wanted a song to be written for it, and I was lucky enough to find Kristyn Knowles, a singer songwriter from Edinburgh.

Kristyn Knowles (supplied by the author)

She wrote a song called Do This Alone, interpreting beautifully Sarah’s story and personality. The song will be performed at my launch, and unveiled on my website on the day after! I’ll finish this musical post with a secret of mine, not a secret anymore I suppose: I’ve always dreamt to be a songwriter, which would be pretty difficult because I don’t have a note in my head – but all poetry I write is actually conceived as lyrics of imaginary songs. So now you know!

Dani

Thank you Dani.  I’m looking forward to visiting your website the day after launch!

My review is scheduled on Monday but you can read a sneak peek of Chapter One of Dreams here.

Please take time to visit the other blogs taking part in the tour:

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

