Jera’s Jamboree reviews: Becoming Edward by Faye Meredith

Becoming Edward – a teen romance by Faye Meredith

Rachel’s hooked on Twilight and is in love with Edward Cullen. Clive is obsessed with Rachel but he’s no Edward. Lewis is in love with himself until he meets Rachel. Both boys fail to win her until one of them has the bright idea of becoming Edward. This light-hearted teenage novel is for young adults who are fans of paranormal romance, especially Twilight and Breaking Dawn.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The story opens with Rachel’s Staffordshire Bull Terrier (Cindy) destroying a signed, limited edition copy of Twilight.

Original book cover courtesy of author

The reader gets to know Rachel’s background before we meet best friend Cassie.  Cassie talks Rachel into going to Bournemouth town centre on the premise that she will buy her another copy of Twilight.

While they are on the bus, the story moves to Lewis. The reader is immediately aware of his easy lifestyle and the lack of respect he shows for the females in his life.  Forgetting to buy a birthday gift for his sister Olivia, he rushes off to Bournemouth town centre.  The shops are closing at the end of the day but Books ‘n’ Beans is still open … which is where he meets Rachel.

Clive works in Books ‘n’ Beans but also goes to school with Rachel and Cassie.  Dark and brooding he has very little belief in himself.

Lewis invites Rachel to the birthday party at their home in Sandbanks.  During the evening, she witnesses something that makes her decide to leave to protect her emotions.

What follows is a romantic dance that I can guarantee will entertain you.  Narrated in the third person, the reader spends time with each of the lead characters. The characters are well-developed and the author moves the story on at a good pace.  The figurative language had me laughing at times.

I identified with the places (familiar to me as I live in Bournemouth!) and they are true to life (although sadly, I haven’t experienced a personal shopping service in the department store).

Becoming Edward is a well-written teen love story.  I admire the way the author has Rachel and Lewis communicating even though they have totally different backgrounds.  This could have come across as unbelievable but it is written in such a way that it feels totally natural.  The reader will experience ‘gang culture’/bullying with a totally unexpected hero.  I enjoy seeing characters grow and feel comfortable in their skin. Usually with the books I read it is the females, but this time it is the two male leads.  I have no hesitation in recommending Becoming Edward to the targeted teen market.

Buy it and spread the word

I would like to thank the author for providing a review copy in exchange for an honest review.  If you missed the recent promotion to download a free copy, Becoming Edward in Kindle format is £1.99 on Amazon (at the time of my review).

9 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree reviews: Becoming Edward by Faye Meredith

    • Thanks Shalini. The funny thing is … Le Bateau Bistro in the book – they followed me on Twitter a couple of days before my review went up 🙂

  1. Up until last week, I had never watched a Twilight film, just wasn’t my thing, but my daughter has been introducing me to them this week and I have to say, despite my reservations, I have actually enjoyed them. I only need to watch the latest one then I’m up to date. My daughter has also read all the books, so having seen this review, I’m sure she will enjoy it. Am just off heading off to Amazon to order a copy for her. Thank you!
    Sue x

  2. Pingback: Jera’s Jamboree: Giveaway ‘The Hoodie and the Humpback’ | Jera's Jamboree

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

