Jera’s Jamboree review: Never Coming Home by Evonne Wareham

Never Coming Home by debut author Evonne Wareham

Paperback: 356 pages
Publisher: Choc Lit (8 Mar 2012)
Language English
ISBN-10: 1906931704
ISBN-13: 978-1906931704

********
All she has left is hope. When Kaz Elmore is told her five-year-old daughter Jamie has died in a car crash, she struggles to accept that she’ll never see her little girl again. Then a stranger comes into her life offering the most dangerous substance in the world: hope. Devlin, a security consultant and witness to the terrible accident scene, inadvertently reveals that Kaz’s daughter might not have been the girl in the car after all. What if Jamie is still alive? With no evidence, the police aren’t interested, so Devlin and Kaz have little choice but to investigate themselves. Devlin never gets involved with a client. Never. But the more time he spends with Kaz, the more he desires her – and the more his carefully constructed ice-man persona starts to unravel. The desperate search for Jamie leads down dangerous paths – to a murderous acquaintance from Devlin’s dark past, and all across Europe, to Italy, where deadly secrets await. But as long as Kaz has hope, she can’t stop looking…

We begin with a prologue that takes the reader through two dates.  October 4th when Devlin witnesses the road traffic accident … and October 5th when Kaz finds out the earth-shattering news.

Six months later in Chicago, Devlin is wondering why he hasn’t heard from the mother of the child who died in his arms.  He’s off to London on business and takes the opportunity to find Kaz.

From this point, the reader is on an amazing journey through lies, deception, intrigue, death … and a love that touches the soul.

I really enjoyed Evonne Wareham’s writing style.  Whenever we’re told a fact about one of the characters, we’re not told it as in ‘he/she is’ but it is a part of the place we are in and therefore a part of the story.  The characters traits are built up a bit at a time and we can infer certain things about their personalities before we have the whole picture.  The snippets of Jamie’s personality make her real to the reader, even though she is absent.

The attraction between the two leads is instantaneous and hooked me in.  It’s there in black and white, the reader can feel it from their actions and thoughts and they are honest with each other from the very beginning.  How refreshing!  But then Never Coming Home is much more than a romantic journey …  Narrated in the third person, the reader spends time with them together as well as when they’re apart.  Their love is earthy and all consuming. Despite the emotional baggage they carry, they complement each other from the start and accept their feelings for what they are (although this leads to tension near the end).  I trusted Dev totally – his actions spoke volumes.  Who wouldn’t trust a man who sat at their feet, ready to protect during emotional turmoil?  Even though you had only just met him?

Suspense and intrigue are woven into the story throughout.  My notes are full of questions – Why? Who? What? How? When?  My readers should know by now how much I enjoy a book that makes me think, that leads me to infer and deduce.  I was kept on my toes with Never Coming Home!  Wonderful 🙂  The author uses short sentences when the suspense is building and the tenseness was echoed in my own muscles.  I can’t remember reading a story that had me physically moving about so much – ready to spring, changing position, sitting on the edge of my seat, then relaxing back as the crisis resolved.  I have to admit to wanting to scan ahead in places but did resist the temptation.  I also have to admit to figuring out the plot but I worked hard to do it!  There are clues …

I lost myself totally in this world.  I was there in Kaz’ home in London, leant on the office doorframe in Chicago, walked with Kaz and Dev in the deserted chateau, tripped over the thick black cable in the derelict building and heard the sirens in the distance.  This is one book that is staying on my shelf so that I can experience everything again (and as I said recently to one person, no-one is getting their hands on my copy!)

No surprises at my rating …

Due to be published tomorrow, if you want an engrossing read, I recommend you order it now!

I would like to thank the publishers, Choc Lit, for sending me a copy to review in exchange for an honest review.

Evonne Wareham’s books on Amazon

Last month I was honoured to be the first blog stop for the Wispa it tour for the launch of Evonne’s book.  If you missed it, have a read to see how Evonne made the transition from a finalist in an American writing competition to becoming published by Choc Lit.

For more information visit Evonne’s website and her blog.  You can also tweet with her.

3 thoughts on “Jera’s Jamboree review: Never Coming Home by Evonne Wareham

  1. Pingback: Jera’s Jamboree : Top 20 Fiction Reads of 2012 | Jera's Jamboree

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

