Shaz Stars interviews Associate Reader Rea Sinfield

In the hot seat today I would like to welcome:

REA SINFIELD

Hello Rea, thank you for letting us have a peek behind thescenes.  Your sun sign is LIBRA.

  • Libran’s love of pleasure may lead them into extravagance.  Do you consider reading a pleasure and would you say it follows through that you are extravagant in spending to satisfy your pleasure of reading?

Reading is my one big pleasure in life. It is what allows me to switch off from day to day life. My problem is how quickly I now read. On average I read 2-3 books a week, which when my blog reviews were just starting was over £20.00 a week at least in books. I think the day that I knew I was a little too extravagant was when I came home with my latest book purchases one of which was Christina Jones Moonshine, when I arrived home the postman had been and when I opened my package there sat another shiny new copy of Moonshine! I completely forgot I had pre-ordered it!!

  • Libra is the only sign of the zodiac that is represented by an inanimate object (the scales).  The Libran objective is to be fair and balanced in everything.  Do you use these skills when writing a review?

Wow yes I am very balanced when trying to write a review. I always try and support a negative comment about a book with a positive one. I found it hard at first when reviewing a book which an author had sent me to review to be honest about my opinion of the book as this author has put so much time into their book and has also gone to the trouble of sending me a copy. I felt rude if I didn’t enjoy the book to list the negative comments, now I know I need to be honest in my reviews as quite often our reviews influence our followers decision to buy a book, so I am honest and if I didn’t enjoy a book I will always say why and try and add any good points in the book to balance the review.

  • Planning ahead is a Libran trait.  Do you write your reviews straight after reading a novel or write later taking cues from notes?  Do you have a system for planning your reading and reviewing

I do plan ahead with my To Be Read Pile. I read them in order they are sent to me to be fair. When it comes to reviewing my books as soon as I finish a book I am so eager to start the next book but that is my one rule to myself I have to write my review before I start a new book. I write my review of a book as soon as I have finished so that everything is fresh in my mind.

  

  • Striving to bond with others and listening to others (but also being listened to in return) is something a Libran thrives on.  How active are you in the book blogger community?  Do you bond with others in this community?  What do you gain from being active?

I am fairly new to the blogging world. I set up the blog in May. Over this time I feel it has been a bumpy ride. I needed help and advice and I found this hard to get and often told by well known book review sites that my reviews were not up to standard. After taking a knock I then got up and tried again and that is where I found the people who I now call friends who have really helped me with my blogging journey. Jules, from Dooyoo who introduced me to the world of blogging, Samanatha from chick-lit plus who has given me so much great advice and opportunities and also the whole team at Love A Happy Ending who have taken me under their wing and helped me to promote my blog and have introduced me to some wonderful new authors. I feel like since I have started my Facebook group and my twitter page this has allowed me to become more active in the community, which allows me to help promote my blog and help with the promotion of similar blogs too.

  

  • Venus, the goddess of love, rules Libra.  Librans appreciate anything that is beautiful.  Have you ever brought a book because of the beauty of the cover – even if the blurb doesn’t grab you?

 Ok my hands are up!! That saying “Do not judge a book by its cover” ….. That doesn’t work with me! I am the same with books as I am with clothes. I walk in the shop look for the bright and pretty eye catching book and I am sold! I often pick up the book without even reading the synopsis and it comes home with me! My typical covers I look for are the style of Lindsey Kelk, Paige Toon and Carole Matthews. Now that I get books sent to me to review I often look at the cover when they arrive and I think this is not going to be my style of book but when I start reading I love the books I am sure over the years I have missed out on many great books because I didn’t like the look of the cover.

  
  

  • It is said that one of the faults of a Libran is their need for admiration.  They like to be the centre of attention.  Blogging book reviews certainly brings attention from the author, publisher and other readers and can be seen as a positive use of this trait.  Please would you share with us why you started your book blog and what do you feel are the benefits?

The reason I started reading and reviewing in the first place was unfortunately my small group of friends do not read. When I feel very passionate about something I need to shout about it! There was no one to listen to and I think my clients were getting ear-ache each time they came in listening about my latest read! I then decided to write reviews of my books on Dooyoo. It was there that my reviews were noticed by Jules who then messaged me to ask if I had a blog she could follow and that is where the idea to start my own blog came. I couldn’t believe within the first month of my blog I had two requests to review books and one author had messaged me to thank me for my review to me it was like talking to the rich and famous! The benefits having a blog has brought me are never ending. It has given me the chance to talk about something I love, it has broadened my genre range in reading, and it has given me the chance to meet so many people who share the same interest as me. 

  

  • Finally, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Philip Pullman and John Le Carre are well known Libran writers.  Please share with us who your favourite authors are and why.

This is possibly the hardest question I have had to answer and I think over the years my answer to this question changes. I love Christina Jones and this is one author I always say does not get the attention her books deserve. Christina writes romantic fiction but with a twist, and it is this twists that makes her stand out to me. I love each and every one of her books, she has such a way of writing which makes you feel as if you are really there in these quirky little villages where her novels are based! Carole Matthews is another favourite of mine. I call Carole’s books my safe books – you always know what you are going to get but you always feel pleasantly surprised. I love chocolate as much as I love books and Carole managed to bring my two favourites together in her Chocolate lovers books! I think my newest member of my favourite authors club is Nicola May. I was so shocked when I read this book I thought it was better than many of the current chart books out at the moment. Working it Out made me laugh out loud and it is very rare that a book can do this to me!

Mytop 10 authors are.
1.     Christian Jones
2.     Carole Matthews
3.     Paige Toon
4.     Lindsey Kelk
5.     Cathy Woodman
6.     Katie Fforde
7.     Jane Costello
8.     Nicola May
9.     Lucy Dillon
10.  Miranda Dickinson
Thank you for your honesty Rea.

Rea is an Associate Reader for Loveahappyending which is an interactive reader/author website.  Visit Loveahappyending to find out more about this brilliant project and how you, as a reader, can support them. 
 About Rea: 
Hello I am Rea I am 25 and I have a reading addiction!! I have run my own Beauty Business for 3 years and have been in the Beauty business for 9 years. I love my job but it is slowly being taken over by my passion for chocolate and reading!
I started reading after a long stay in hospital 6 years ago and it has carried on since. I am a Kindle convert. After a year of complaining that I would never give in as I love the feel of the book in my hands I am now a proud owner of a kindle and I LOVE IT!!
You can find me :-
Twitter:- bookreviewbyrea

Facebook:- http://www.facebook.com/pages/Rea-Book-reviews/208142895873594





One thought on “Shaz Stars interviews Associate Reader Rea Sinfield

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

