The ‘Wispa It …’ Blog Tour for Never Coming Home by Evonne Wareham

I am honoured to be the first blog tour stop for Evonne Wareham’s debut novel, Never Coming Home.  Evonne is sharing with Jera’s Jamboree readers a taster from the first chapter, her journey from being a finalist in an American competition to being published with Choc Lit, plus a giveaway.  So without further ado, I’m handing you over to Evonne.

‘Wispa It…’ Snippet No. 1 … Shhhhh

‘You know, Dev, you don’t have to do this.’ Bobby Hoag

leaned on the doorjamb of his partner’s office. Devlin was

tossing files into drawers and packing his laptop into its

travel case. ‘Have you thought about it?’ Bobby persisted.

Behind him the reception area was deserted, the lights dim.

An open window wafted the smoke from Bobby’s cigarette

into the rainy Chicago night. ‘It’s been more than six months.

By now these people will have settled, put it behind them.

And you’re going to rake it all up again?’

That got Devlin’s attention. He looked up, scowling.

‘Would you ever put something like that behind you?’

‘Well – no,’ Bobby admitted. ‘But even so – if no one has

got in touch, in all this time –’

‘I’ve thought about this, Bobby.’ Devlin zipped the slim

travel case and propped himself against the desk, folding

his arms. ‘Christ, it’s not something I want to do. Maybe I

won’t, when it comes down to it. This trip is about work,

first and foremost. It just happens to be London, and the

woman is in London.’

That’s just a taster from the first chapter of Never Coming Home. There will be more as the ‘Wispa It …’ blog tour travels on.

 

Hello. It’s good to be here, kicking off the ‘Wispa it …’ Blog tour on Jera’s Jamboree. As well as being the ‘Wispa it …’ tour (Wispa – like the Chocolate bar), featuring snippets of Never Coming Home, I’m also taking a look at how I came to be here, starting with the journey that Never Coming Home made from the final of an American reality writing contest to publication by Choc-lit.

To begin at the beginning – American Title was a big reality contest that was run in the United States by Romantic Times magazine and Dorchester publishing — extracts from the books that made the final were printed in the magazine over a period of months, and finalists were gradually eliminated by public vote — and no, I didn’t win, but the contest did shape what came after.

I came across the magazine by accident, in a London bookshop, saw the competition and decided to try my luck.  That contest was American Title IV and the requirement was for a book with a paranormal element.  This is where serendipity came in, as I had large chunks of a paranormal book already written — not vampires or ghosts, but two troubled humans with the ability to read minds.  Although I’d loved writing it, I’d put the manuscript  aside, because people in the industry had told me that there was no market in the UK for that kind of book.  I dusted it down, polished the first three chapters and synopsis and off it went — and three months later, it was in the final.

I’ll leave it to you to imagine the day when the letter arrived, asking for the whole manuscript.

That book was Out of Sight, Out of Mind, and I’m pleased to say that Choc-lit will be publishing that one in 2013.  Getting into the contest really opened my eyes to the American romance scene.  I began to read the American authors who were coming across the Atlantic — Nora Roberts, Karen Rose, Lisa Gardener — and I loved them.  I started to think about writing in that style, but with a European setting.  I’d already realised that whatever I wrote always had a crime as part of the plot. Even my regional family saga, set in World War II, had a serial killer in it. But I didn’t want to write police procedurals or spy stories, I wanted that mix of thrills, glamour and romance.  The category that is known in the States as romantic suspense suited me perfectly.  I began to write Never Coming Home to keep me sane while the roller coaster of American Title IV was going on.  It was nearly finished when the fifth and last American Title contest was announced.  Friends encouraged me to enter again, and I got into the final again.  And again I didn’t win the prize of a publishing contract.  So — it was a matter of sending both books out myself, to see if they could attract an agent or a publisher.

As a result of that exercise I got some amazing feedback, but the bottom line was always, ‘I loved this, BUT …’

When I analysed those ‘BUTS’ it became clear that the people I’d sent it to found it strange that the hero had equal weight to the heroine in both books and that there was some difficulty in categorising them because of the mix of thriller and romance.  I’d reached the conclusion that, despite their success, these were two more manuscripts destined for the bottom drawer of the filing cabinet, when someone suggested Choc-lit.  Now Choc-lit really like heroes, so I could tick that box, and they also have a powerful secret weapon – a readers’ tasting panel who play a significant role in choosing the books to be published.  I knew that ‘ordinary readers’ who had sampled the books had enjoyed them, so I thought I’d be in with a chance.  And I was.  The Choc-lit panel are wonderful women and, of course, I think they have the best taste in the world.

Never Coming Home is Choc-lit’s first thriller, so it’s a bit different from other books in the line.  I always emphasize that I am definitely in the dark end of the selection box — the book has gruesome scenes, ten dead bodies and a love story that doesn’t run smoothly.  It may not be everyone’s taste – I’d hate to accidentally give anyone nightmares — but if you like reading American style romantic suspense and enjoy your romance slightly splashed with gore, then you might like to give it a try.

Thank you for sharing with us Evonne.  I hope your journey to publication inspires other writers and I’m sure my readers will join in with wishing you success with Never Coming Home and Out of Sight, Out of Mind.

Evonne was born in South Wales and spent her childhood there. After university she migrated to London, where she worked in local government, scribbled novels in her spare time and went to the theatre a lot. Now she’s back in Wales, writing and studying history and living by the sea. Her membership of the Romantic Novelists’ Association lets her enjoy the company of other authors and gives her an excuse to sneak back to London from time to time for essential stuff, like attending parties. She still loves the theatre, likes staying in hotels and enjoys walking on the beach, where she daydreams about her characters. She hopes that all those things come through in her books – drama, glamorous locations, engaging heroines and dangerous heroes.
Evonne’s novel Never Coming Home will be published March 2012 shortly followed by her paranormal thriller Out of Sight Out of Mind.

For more information visit www.evonnewareham.com and Evonne’s blog at www.evonneonwednesday.blogspot.com.  You can also tweet with her.

To enter the giveaway of Never Coming Home and a Wispa chocolate bar, Evonne would like to know what would you choose as a chocolate filling to represent a romantic thriller?  Leave your comment below and Evonne will pick a winner.  Closing date is Friday 10th February 2012 at noon.  This is an International giveaway.

Good luck!

Shaz

 

Please feel welcome to visit every tour stop! 

 

WISPA IT… BLOG TOUR
EVONNE WAREHAM – NEVER COMING HOME
DATE CONTACT WEBSITE
Friday 3rd February Sharon Goodwin Jera’s Jamboree
Tuesday 7th February Kath Eastman The Nutpress
Friday 10th February Sue Fortin Love Reading Love Books
Tuesday 14th February Catherine Miller Katy Little Lady
Friday 17th February Debs Carr Debs Daydreams
Tuesday 21st February Sarah Broadhurst Sarah’s Book Reviews
Thursday 23rd February Debs Carr Novelicious
Friday 24th February Elle Symonds Trashionista
Tuesday 28th February Tara Chevrestt Book Babe
Friday 2nd March Lou Graham Lou Graham’s Blog
Wednesday 7th March Author’s Blog Choc Lit website

 

16 thoughts on “The ‘Wispa It …’ Blog Tour for Never Coming Home by Evonne Wareham

  1. Great post and awesome giveaway! First I would like to congratulate Evonne for not giving up and for teaming up with Choc Lit who are AMAZING! The cover is gorgeous and the book sure sounds like something I would love to read! Ok, about the filling, if it was sweet romance I would definitely go for strawberries, but since it’s suspense/thriller/romance I would say chilli and maybe a bit Amaretto 🙂 Anyway, once again thank you Evonne and Sharon for this awesome giveaway:) xx

  2. Great snippet – can’t wait to read more! And well done, Evonne, for your persistence and determination. What an achievement.

    My filling would be Irish coffee crunch. Coffee because detectives always drink the stuff, making it ‘Irish’ with a splash of alcohol to ‘wash the murder off my hands’ and the crunch, which would most likely come from the popping candy, would mark the grittiness of the plot.

  3. This book sounds fantastic and your story gives hope to all wannabe writers.
    As for the filling, I think a coffee filling would give me the darkness, strength and addictive and awakening effect I seek in a romantic suspense.
    Evonne, I’m sure your book will be very successful. Best of luck!

  4. Awesome giveaway! My filling would be caramel. The chocolate (preferably dark) would go with the thriller and caramel, according to me, feels/tastes romantic! =)

  5. What an interesting road to publication. Good luck with the success of your super novel. My choc filling would be a romantic silky smooth praline with an underlying, suspenseful hazlenut crunch and a hint of chilli for an afternote of hot spice.

  6. Lovely post – I’m not entering the giveaway as I’ve already received a copy through Choc Lit for review but I had to stop by and say how much I loved Never Coming Home. Devlin was a serious chilli chocolate hit. I really loved having a powerful hero AND heroine. Congratulations to Evonne for not giving up and to Choc Lit for picking up, once again, a delicious novel for us to enjoy! x

  7. Great start to your blog tour, Evonne, look forward to reading more! I’m not entering the giveaway either, as I’ve been lucky enough to read an advance copy of the novel. I have to say that anyone who hasn’t read it is in for a real treat! The hero especially is to die for … (no, not literally, even though this is a thriller 🙂

  8. Hi Susan
    Thanks for another gorgeous chocolate sugestion.
    Hi Kirsty and Christina
    Glad you enjoyed Devlin, he was fun to write – even though most of the time he hates to talk about himself!

    • You’re very welcome Evonne. I’ll be following you around on your blog tour. Am loving Never Coming Home and know it will be a great success. Thank you for such a gorgeous post for the first stop x

  9. One of the things that appeals to me about Choc Lit’s books is the equal weight they give to the hero and heroine, so I’m very glad that you found each other. Thanks for giving us such an insight into how this and your next book started out!

  10. Pingback: The winner of the Wispa it blog tour … | Jera's Jamboree

  11. Pingback: Jera’s Jamboree: Monthly round-up | Jera's Jamboree

  12. Pingback: Jera’s Jamboree review: Never Coming Home by Evonne Wareham | Jera's Jamboree

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

