Caught my eye …

Four good Kindle deals have caught my eye this week ...

The first book, well, if you haven’t seen this on the social media networks this week you MUST have had your eyes shut!

Before I Go To Sleep by SJ Watson

Winner of the Galaxy National Book Awards 2011 in the Crime and Thriller category, it’s also a pick on Richard & Judy’s spring book club, plus the TV Book club (4).   Tesco Books blog are also holding a Q & A session with the author  Before the social media frenzy, this book had already caught my eye so  imagine my delight when after watching the Kindle price I saw it drop to £2.70 (still correct at the time of this post).  Of course I brought it 🙂

 

The next book that caught my eye was on Lins Healy’s blog ‘The Littlereader Library’.

A LIFETIME BURNING by Linda Gillard

Lins has a review, an author interview and a giveaway (closes 31st January).  Lins’ review is amazing – she has given it 5/5.

This is how she sums it up “It’s an absorbing, brave and unforgettable book, from a talented writer. The dialogue flows easily; the characters are so well drawn that they leap from the page; they are loved, rejected, damaged, hopeful, damned and loved again, and they grow and change through the timescale covered in the novel. As a reader it makes you think, question and ponder, and though you may not like some of the characters and their actions, they are nevertheless compelling. A thoroughly riveting read. “

Go and have a read!  At the time of this post, the Kindle copy is £0.88.

  The third book was on Amazon’s 12 Days of Kindle promotion and is still £0.99 (at the time of this post)

The Dress by Sophie Nicholls

Meet Ella and her mother Fabbia Moreno who arrive in York, one cold January day, to set up their vintage dress shop.

The flamboyant Fabbia wants to sell beautiful dresses to nice people and move on from her difficult past. Ella just wants to fit in. But not everyone is on their side.

Will Fabbia overcome the prejudices she encounters? What’s the dark secret she’s hiding? And do the silk linings and concealed seams of her dresses contain real spells or is this all just ‘everyday magic’?

Among the leopard-print shoes, tea-gowns and costume jewellery in Fabbia’s shop are many different stories – and the story of one particular dress.

This is a full-length novel for lovers of vintage and readers of contemporary romance/fantasy.

I downloaded it and author Talli Roland gave it 5 stars on Goodreads

My final book (which is actually two!) …

I had already reviewed Raven but it caught my eye because it’s free on Kindle and the second in the trilogy is reasonably priced!  AND the second DECEMBER MOON was one of my top 10 fiction reads for 2011.  December Moon is priced at £0.77 at the time of this post.


Raven (The Raven Saga) by Suzy Turner

After the inexplicable disappearance of Lilly Taylor’s parents, she has no choice but to move to Canada where she unravels some frightening yet intriguing family secrets…
Her whole life had been based on a lie. Lilly had grown up in a loveless home with a father who she had barely ever seen and a mother who was… well, not very motherly.
After they mysteriously disappear without a trace, Lilly is sent to Canada where she finds a whole new way of life. A life filled with love and people who care for her. But that’s not all she discovers, Lilly also finds out that she isn’t who, or what, she thinks she is.

Lilly has a very special ability and it’s just a matter of time before her true self starts to shine. And when it does, her life will never be the same again.
Raven is a fantasy novel for children and young adults set in the beautiful province of British Columbia.


December Moon (The Raven Saga) by Suzy Turner

On her 15th birthday, December Moon discovers she is the descendant of a family of witches, kept in the dark her entire life in an effort to protect her. But when Lilly, her best friend, finds herself in danger from one of the world’s most evil vampires, December will do everything in her power to stop him. December Moon is a fantasy novel for children and young adults set in BC, Canada.

If you read any of them, I would be interested to know how
you get on!
8 thoughts on “Caught my eye …

  1. Thank you for featuring Linda’s book and our interview and my review, I’m so glad you picked it out, it’s a brilliant read. I like the others you’ve picked too, I read Before I Go To Sleep last year, it’s gripping, and I keep wondering about buying ‘The Dress’…!
    Lins x

  2. Am reading The Dress at the moment and enjoying it. I like the way the author has used similies associated with clothing and dress making through out, clever I thought, and the story has me wondering at the moment…what will come next. Recommended.
    Saw Before I go to sleep in a store and its on my list, if its on offer, will go now and download it to my Kindle.
    Another I recommend is The Black House, had me riveted!

  3. We love a book that makes us stop and wonder what is coming next 😦

    I saw Quercus tweet about The Black House when it was first published – looks intriguing Cathy.

  4. All of these books sound GREAT! Will be reading Raven soon, can’t wait! Would also love to check A LIFETIME BURNING by Linda Gillard since I loved Lins’ review and interview on her blog. Thanks for this post and have a fab Sunday:) Hugs x

    • The reviews on Amazon look pretty good too Amanda. It’s the same age old problem though isn’t it … too many, too many, too many 🙂 Thanks for the comment.

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

