Shaz Stars interviews Associate Reader Lindsay Gentles

In the hot seat today I would like to welcome:
LINDSAY GENTLES

 

Hello Lindsay, thank you for letting us have a peek behind the scenes into your reading habits. Your sun sign is GEMINI (Lindsay was born on the cusp and her sun is less than a degree into the sign of Gemini – there are 30 degrees to each sign)

  • Gemini’s are adaptable and versatile.  Does this trait extend to the genres you choose to read?  Do you read all genres?
Hit the nail on the head!!  I feel that I am very open when I choose books.  To me, there is no genre that I haven’t read and no genre that I won’t read again. While I do have my favourites, keeping my options open is the best.

  • It is said that those born with the sun sign of Gemini take up new activities enthusiastically but lack application, constantly needing new interests.  In a positive sense, reading could quite easily fulfil this need with all the different genres available.  On a negative note however, this could also translate to becoming bored with the material you are reading.  How does needing new interests translate for you when reading?
It takes a lot for me to mark a book as DNF (did not finish)… a lot!  If an author can take the time to write the book, the least I can do is give it a fair chance and finish it.  In order to avoid becoming bored with reading my strategy is to constantly switch genres… rarely do I read books from the same genre, back-to-back… unless it’s chick-lit books (my secret obsession).

  • Geminis find it hard to have an opinion about a certain topic because they are very good at seeing and understanding both sides of any situation.  Does this make it difficult for you when you are writing a book review?  Are you able to be specific in the opinions that you want to get across to other readers?
Just ask my husband about this… he will say I am VERY opinionated.  It’s true though; I always see both sides of the story and generally do have a hard time taking sides with my characters.  Just as I am starting to take one side, the other character comes into focus and I get all confused again.  By the end of the book, I have avery concrete opinion on the book and am able to write my reviews.

  • Gemini’s are said to be skilled in the arts of language – in speech and writing.  Is this skill something you apply to writing your reviews?
One of my close friends once said that she would see my words in print one day.  While my blog, Turning the Pages, is still in the early stages, I am happy that people are starting to notice it.  I love to talk, I love my sarcastic personality and feel that I work hard to put myreviews in the words that my readers will relate to.  I am so passionate about reading that words just flow when I amwriting about ‘my’ books.

  • Dependability is not usually a trait a trait possessed by most Geminis.  Do you have deadlines for reviews?  How do you make sure you meet them?
Again, because Turning the Pages is so new, I am reviewing every book I read as I read them. Moving forward, as it picks up steam; I will have books that I review and books that I read for fun. Deadlines will be set and deadlines will be met… to that I am committed! 

  • The most common trait of a Gemini is their outgoing personality.  Do you network with other bloggers/reviewers?  Have you used this trait to build relationships with publishers and authors?
Absolutely! Each and every day, I follow over 50 blogs and over 600 Twitter contacts.  I am a very ‘Type-A’personality and have no issues with e-mailing an author or a publisher to ask for a book to review… the worst that could happen is a ‘no’. 
My biggest tip for networking is to set yourself up with a Twitter account that includes a link to your blog, follow all the bookreaders/lovers that you can and visit their blogs as often as possible.  Comments are ALWAYS appreciated and bloggers will start to visit you once they realize who you are and that you are avid about what you do!

  • Anne Frank (the diarist) and Ian Flemming (creator of James Bond) are both born with a Gemini Sun.  Please would you share with us your favourite authors.
WOW, how to narrow down my favourites?!?!  On any given day, this list can vary so don’t quote me on it.  Today, my favourite authors are Jodi Picoult, Jennifer Weiner, Rick Mofina, SophieKinsella, Barbara Delinsky, Mary Higgins Clark, Joy Fielding… ack, okay, I will stop now as I could go on and on and on…
Thank you for your honest Lindsay.

Linday is an Associate Reader for Loveahappyending which is an interactive reader/author website.  Visit Loveahappyending to find out more about this brilliant project and how you, as a reader, can support them.

About Lindsay:

First and foremost, I am a wife and a mother but following closely behind that, I am an AVID reader!  There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t find my nose in a book of some sort; whether it be a fictional novel that I borrowed from the library, a non-fiction book about someone’s life story or simply, a fun book about cartoon rabbits that help my son fall asleep… a book is a book and I enjoy them all!
From as far back as I can remember, I have enjoyed all things book.  Spending all day reading was something that happened often in my life.  Maybe it had something to do with moving alot, I was able to lose myself in someone else’s life, someone else’s problems,while leaving mine behind.  The ‘friends’ in the books I read as a child had simple lives and simple problems and were always there for me…ALWAYS!!  The first series and really, the one that opened up the passion, was The Baby-Sitter’s Club by Ann M. Martin (131books in the series not including the Super Specials!).  These books soon gave way to another series, Sweet Valley Twins by Francine Pascal (118books in the series!).  My final ‘series’ as a tween was the Fear Streetbooks by R. L. Stine (55books in the series).

As I matured, I turned to my mother for recommendations.  She introduced me to Belva Plain and from there, my love of mysteries took off… and really, it hasn’t stopped since.  With JoyFielding, MaryHiggins Clark, RickMofina, SandraBrown and JodiPicoult all still actively writing, I never seem to run out of a good old ‘Who Done It’ book.  Beyond that, I have developed a thirst for every kind of book.  While my heart still draws back to mysteries, I enjoy other genres such as chick-lit, crime, romance and young adult (everyone loves a good vampire book, right?!?)

So, as you can see, I love to read and will forever be looking for my next book! :)


2 thoughts on “Shaz Stars interviews Associate Reader Lindsay Gentles

  1. What a wonderful interview, Shaz–and thanks to Lindsay for being so open about your habits and personality. I love the bit when you say that you try your hardest to finish a book because if an author took the time to write it, you feel it deserves the time to be read. That is a wonderful, thoughtful thing to hear and I have to say that I feel very much the same. Thanks for visiting Shaz’s Stars today! X

  2. Another Gemini …. there are a lot of us about! Amazing how each time you get to the very heart of the person Shaz and Lindsay is a lovely lady – and a type A personality to boot. Really enjoyed reading this interview, you have a wonderful skill!

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

