My Top 10 Fiction Reads of 2011

Before I do my top reads, I just wanted to say a huge thank you to all the authors in the world for sharing their creativity enabling me to experience lives and journeys without leaving my chair … and also to my readers and the blogging community who are supportive and make book blogging fun.  Without any of you there would be no book blog!

So without further ado … here are my top 10 reads of 2011 (in no particular order):

A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness – pure heaven for me – magic, historical, folklore/myth, DNA … and  Matthew and Diana are amazing leads.  (I have had Shadow of Night – the second in the All Souls Trilogy – on pre-order for ages).

A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy 1)

Being Billy by Phil Earle – a YA novel that made me cry – very well written and just made me want to mother Billy!  A story that takes you out of your comfort zone.  Highlights that there’s always a reason behind certain behaviours and we need to look beyond that.

Being Billy

Hurry Up and Wait by Isabel Ashdown – based in the 80’s, a book I couldn’t put down.  Inference and sub-plots kept my interest.

Hurry Up and Wait

Caligula by Douglas Jackson.  Historical.  Caligula took me on a trip to the past and involved me in lives that felt real!

Caligula (Roman Trilogy 1)

The Secrets Between Us by Louise Douglas.  Passion, tension.  Again inference.  The psychological mind games had the hairs bristling on the back of my neck and I had goosebumps.

The Secrets Between Us

December Moon by Suzy Turner.  YA novel, the second in the Raven trilogy.  Another magical world that is populated with brilliant characters.  I couldn’t stop reading – the action and tension builds all the time so that half-way through we have a major crises and the consequences of that cause major rumbles throughout the rest of the story.  (I am eagerly awaiting The Lost Soul Mar 2012)

December Moon (The Raven Saga)

Strings Attached by Mandy Baggot.  Chick lit at its finest.  Plot surprises I didn’t see coming.  Could believe I was there in the UK and Spain.  Also, the best male lead this year for me is Quinn.

Strings Attached

Tears & Laughter & Happy Ever After – anthology.  Not usually a fan of short stories in one book, I was so engrossed I even read at the dinner table!  These twenty-six short stories had me thinking about life.  Loved the ‘meaning’ behind each one.

Tears and Laughter and Happy Ever After

Miracle on Regent Street by Ali Harris.  Chick Lit. Loved the transformation of Evie taking place alongside the transformation of Hardy’s.  LOVED ‘the wardrobe’.  Male leads gorgeous.  The scenes inside Hardy’s just took my breath away.  If this was a movie, I would be watching again and again and …

Miracle on Regent Street

Watch Over Me by Daniela Sacerdoti.  Beautiful and fluid writing.  Poignant love story, traditions, family and belonging.  The difference in this love story is the extra help from ‘beyond the grave.’  One of the best debut novels I’ve read.

Watch Over Me

19 thoughts on “My Top 10 Fiction Reads of 2011

  1. So thrilled Tears and Laughter and Happy Ever After is on your Top Ten Fiction Reads of 2011. Thank you.x

  2. I have several to be read or wishlist from your list. Top of those to be read is Hurry Up and Wait. I read The Secrets Between Us and liked that too. x

  3. Pingback: Jera’s Jamboree : Celebrating Daniela Sacerdoti’s publication in paperback of Watch Over Me | Jera's Jamboree

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

