Guest author Victoria Simcox

Jera’s Jamboree’s guest author today is Victoria Simcox.


Victoria was born in Scarborough, Ontario, Canada, to an Austrian immigrant mother, and a Dutch immigrant father. She now lives in Western Washington with her husband, Russ and their three children, Toby, Kristina, and William. Her other family members are a Chihuahua, named Pipsy, and two cats, named Frodo and Fritz. Besides being an author, Victoria is a home-schooling mother of twelve years and an elementary school art teacher of eleven years. In her spare time, Victoria enjoys managing her two older children’s Celtic band. She also loves reading, painting watercolors, hiking, good movies, and just simply hanging out with her family and friends.




Victoria has written two novels The Magic Warble and the sequel, The Black Shard.



Twelve-year-old Kristina Kingsly feels like the most unpopular girl in her school. The kids all tease her, and she never seems to fit in. But when Kristina receives an unusual Christmas gift, she suddenly finds herself magically transported to the land of Bernovem, home of dwarfs, gnomes, fairies, talking animals and the evil Queen Sentiz.

In Bernovem, Kristina not only fits in, she’s honored as “the chosen one” the only one who can release the land from Queen Sentiz’s control. But it’s not as simple as it seems. To save Bernovem, she must place the gift she was given, the famous “Magic Warble,” in its final resting place. And she must travel through the deep forest, climb a treacherous mountain, and risk capture by the queen’s “zelbocks” before she reaches her destination. Guided by her new fairy friends, Clover and Looper and by Prince Werrien, a teenage boy, as well as an assortment of other characters, Kristina sets off on a perilous journey that not only tests her strength but her heart.





In the new year, Jera’s Jamboree will be reviewing The Magic Warble and Victoria has kindly offered a giveaway to tie-in with my review. 
Today, Victoria is going to share with readers more information about The Magic Warble

My novel, The MagicWarble, is a fantasy story,listed as Juvenile fiction. But even though labeled for kids and teens, I knowthat some of us seasoned adults still have a trace of that childlike wonder inus that loves to escape into a magical world every now and then … at least Istill do. 

Growing up reading C.S. Lewis’s beloved Narnia Chronicles hasinfluenced me in writing The Magic Warble. My story is abouta 12 year old girl named Kristina Kingsly, who hates to go to school becauseshe doesn’t fit in. She’s bullied by some of her peers, and they make her dailylife miserable. I created this aspect of my main character’s life because as achild I had experienced dealing with bullies in school, and I remember hatingto go because of them.

When I was a kid, my parents owned their own piano store. Theyup and moved it many times, so before the age of 13, I had already made 5 majormoves and had been to 7 different public schools. I can remember this beingdifficult for me, especially having to leave friends I had made, and even worse,having to make new ones, which I was not good at. This aspect of my life is also tied into the story.

I named the main character “Kristina” after my daughterKristina, who is now 16. Though  theyhave the same name, my book’s character is not actually characterized after mydaughter. Kristina in The Magic Warble is definitely herown unique person.

In the story, Kristina receives a gift from her school teacher,and it’s this gift that magically takes her to another world, where she findsout that she not only fits in, but is chosen for a very important task. If shecompletes the task, she will change the destiny of this world.

Throughout her journey, Kristina meets all kinds of characters,such as dwarfs, gnomes, fairies, talking animals, and a teenage boy namedWerrien, who ends up going along with her on her adventure. Along her perilousjourney, she not only has her strength tested but her heart as well.

I wrote this story because I love fairy tales and all kinds offantasy stories for that matter, and I have a big imagination that I thought Imay as well put to good use. Once I got started writing the manuscript, Icouldn’t stop. My characters seemed to take on a life of their own. I felt thatI owed it to them to finish their story. This may seem a little weird, but whenyou spend so much time writing a story, you do, or at least I do, get veryattached to the characters.

Even though The MagicWarble is a magical fantasy filled with adventure, suspense andintrigue, its underlying message is one of faith, hope, perseverance,friendship and love.

I would now like to mention that the sequel to TheMagic Warble, titled, “The Black Shard”  is newly released this November / 11. I inviteyou to check it out at : http://www.theblackshard.com.

Happyreading to you!


You should all know by now how much I love magic, fantasy and fairytales.  I’m really looking forward to reading The Magic Warble and the sequel … and to offer a giveaway with my review. 

Victoria can be found tweeting, you can find her on her Facebook and on her blog.



  

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

