Shaz’ Stars interviews Author Richard Holmes

In the hot seat today I would like to welcome:


RICHARD HOLMES



Hello Richard, thank you for letting us have a peek behindthe scenes.  Your sun sign is TAURUS.



Q.  Taureans are well known for being persistent and determined once they are motivated.  Is this a trait you access while writing?  Do these energies see you through to the end of a writing project when others may give up?

Oh yes most definitely.  I must admit that I do have trouble getting motivated in the first place though.  What normally happens is that I get the inspiration for a project and then spend weeks or even months just thinking about it, in the hope that it will write itself with no effort on my part.  When the penny drops that I have to actually have some input I just go for it.  But it’s funny you mention not giving up.


My first two projects are classicexamples of a writer not giving up. Back in 2002 when I first started writing I didn’t even own acomputer.  I did a large chunk of mywriting by hand and the rest on a borrowed laptop.  At the time I was working for a utility company in Swindon and Iwould take all my hand written work into the office with me and type it up whenno one was looking and save it to a floppy disc.  One day I went to print a couple of pages and the whole documentprinted out.  I didn’t know how to stopthe printer; it was just total madness. Miraculously, at some stage after the document had finished printing, itwas just gathered up and put on my desk and nothing was said.  My second project was just as bizarre.


It started off as a series ofarticles in a monthly newsletter, which for various reasons, gotabandoned.  I saved each monthly articleon a floppy disc that somehow became corrupted.  But I’d sent hard copies to the editor so I rang him and askedfor them back.  It turned out he nolonger required my “services” so he gladly posted them back to me and I rewrotethem.  It seemed a shame to waste thewriting so I modified it to make it flow and turned it into an interim bookletbetween Angelic Wisdom Volumes One and Two. Even though it was only a short booklet it took me nine months to get itinto print.


In contrast, my latest andlargest project to date, Astral Travelling, The Avatar and Me was in print injust under five months.




Q.  The negative side of being persistent and determined is being inflexible.  Have there been times when you should really have given up on something that isn’t working but have persisted and then been frustrated?


No not really, my projects tend to be definite with a clear vision.  But, there were two occasions that I spent a considerable amount of time on two projects only to abandon them because they were not right.  I had been following my head instead of the inspiration from my heart and it became apparent after a while that what I was writing was not suited to go to print.  But I also acknowledged that these projects gave me a chance to vent my spleen so I had no trouble deleting them and moving on without feeling frustrated.



Q.  Stability and predictability make a Taurean very happy.  A writing career doesn’t hold any of those things.  Do you ever worry about the practical side of your chosen career?  What strategies do you use to overcome any fears you may have?


Quite simply I don’t have any strategies.  I try my hardest to live in the “now” and take each day as it comes.  Also, I actually do a number of other things apart from write, but sometimes I really have to think to remember what it is I actually DO do.  I am lucky in that I have been blessed with many gifts.  I live a very modest life and tend not to worry about the things that drive most people up the wall.



Q.  Taureans like comfort but not clutter around them.  Where do you do your writing?  Do you surround yourself with things that make you feel comfortable and bring you pleasure? What does your workspace look like? 


I do my writing in the tiny living room of my very tiny house.  To me it seems cluttered but that is because it is such a small space.  But I actually own very little, so most people visiting me would say I have no clutter at all.  I have a set up of two laptops and two printers in one corner of the room that not only allow me to write, but also to produce the meditation CD’s that I sell alongside my books.  Because I see “things” as exactly that i.e. stuff that doesn’t have any real value, I tend not to surround myself with them. 



Q.  Venus is the planetary ruler of Taurus.  Venus represents love and relationships (amongst other things).  Is love an important theme in your writing?


Absolutely 100% yes.  Love is the basis for everything, and as writers, when we put our heart and soul, our love, into our writing; it is that self-same love that touches the hearts of those who read our books.  Without love there would be no books.



Q.  We all need something in our lives that is our outlet from the stresses and strains of daily living. Taureans are very practical people with a love of the earth.  How do you relax away from your writing?  Do you enjoy gardening/spending time with nature as a form of stress therapy?


I tend to be fairly stress free, as I said, I try my hardest to live in the now, which works wonders when it comes to keeping stress at bay.  But I meditate and I go to the gym.  I also like to travel when I am able.  I love nature too.  Nature is absolutely amazing, and it’s incredible what we can see in nature if we are prepared to open our eyes.  I also enjoy DIY, because to me it means exactly that, “do it yourself”, don’t   ask me!  Yes there is nothing more relaxing than sitting doing nothing while somebody else is breaking their back!     



Q.  Charlotte Bronte and supposedly William Shakespeare were also born under a Taurean sun.  Which authors have inspired you on your path?


Howard Murphet, Eckhart Tolle, Paramahansa Yogananda, Professor Anil Kumar, Neale Donald Walsch, Grant Solomon and Arian Sarris



Thank you for sharing with us Richard.

Richard is a showcased author with Loveahappyending which is an interactive reader/author website.  Visit Loveahappyending to find out more about this brilliant project and how you, as a reader, can support them.


Richard Holmes Biography:


Richard was born in London in 1955 and has lived a verytopsy turvey life.

“I left school at 15 with no qualifications, and had Inot left voluntarily, I would have been asked to leave. I always felt that Ididn’t fit in anywhere, and as a result, by the time I reached the age of 17I’d had 24 jobs”.

He joined the army in 1976 hoping that it would give him apurpose in life but instead he became even more disillusioned and turned toalcohol
. “I hated the army because I found it to be such ahypocritical organisation and as soon as I was eligible I bought myselfout”.
Whilst in the military however, Richard did enjoy hisexperiences in Germany and in 1980 went back there to work, staying for sixyears
. “My heavy drinking continued during my time inGermany and by the time I returned to the UK in 1986 I was heading down into adeep depression. I managed to haul myself out of it in the mid-to-late 1990’sbut my life hit an all time low in 2000”.
Richard found his spiritual pathway and started to turn hislife around in early 2001. He now lives in Gloucestershire and is a successfulmedium, healer and spiritually inspired artist. He is also the author of sixspiritual publications and has produced five meditation CD’s. Richard is aworkshop facilitator in various spiritual topics and also gives profoundinterpretations of dreams. 



  • Paperback: 154 pages
  • Publisher: UKUnpublished (3 Oct 2010)
  • Language English
  • ISBN-10: 9781849440738
  • ISBN-13: 978-1849440738
  • ASIN: 1849440735

In 2000 my life hit rock bottom. I was totally spent and didn’t see any way out of the mire that I found myself in. This book tells the story how (with a little help) I managed to turn my life around. Miraculously at the onset of the new millenium I started to embark on a series of truly amazing out of body adventures, and as the years have gone by, I have learned to pass through solid objects, propel myself in whatever direction I wish to travel, and unbelievably, “will” myself back into my body when I became bored with the journey. As if that wasn’t incredible enough, I have also been blessed by the Avatar of the age himself, Sri Sathya Sai Baba, who first entered my life in 2001. Since then I have had a series of truely wonderous experiences with Baba, the highlights of which were being held in his arms during an out of body experience in 2006 and seeing him in physical form at his ashram, Prasanthi Nilayam (abode of the highest peace) in Puttaparthi, Southern India in October 2009.


JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

