Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow? by Claudia Carroll

Absence makes the heart grow fonder…doesn’t it?
What happens when two people decide to give themselves the year off…from each other?
Annie and Dan were the perfect couple. But now the not-so-newly weds feel more like flatmates than soul mates and wonder where all the fun and fireworks went …
When Annie lands her big break in a smash-hit show that’s heading for the bright lights of Broadway, she’s over the moon. Goodbye remote Irish village of Stickens, hello fabulous Big Apple! But with their relationship already on the rocks, how will Annie and Dan survive the distance?
They’re hitting the pause button on their marriage. One year off from each other – no strings attached, except a date to meet in twelve months at the Rockefeller Centre to decide their fate.
Will they both turn up? Or is it too late for love?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
I have to start by saying that I absolutely love the cover of this book.  If I was choosing a book from a shelf, I would immediately be drawn to the colours and how they make me feel.  There’s a lot to be said for colour therapy!  I love the embossed title with words in different colours and the author’s name in block colour.  The picture speaks to me of a girl alone on an adventure in a city and makes me want to see what type of journey she is going to make.
The foundation of the story is told in the first quarter of the book.  We get to know how Annie and Dan’s relationship is today and meet the characters who are a part of their lives.  I did find this hard going at times, but only because I hated Annie feeling like she did and wanted the story to move on so that she could develop!  I truly felt her frustration at being let down so much.
From the time Annie gets to Broadway the story sparkles along.  She has the freedom that she never had as a teen (having been with Dan since she was 15) and you can feel her joie de vivre bouncing off the pages!  I enjoyed getting to know the characters of the cast in the play.  I thought the character of Jack (the director) was crafted really well and loved the ‘cold hands’, which only emphasised how aloof and distant he was!  When Jules (Dan’s sister) comes out to stay the gears move up a notch on the romance front. My inference from Annie’s life as a child, with her father deserting her and her mother being a diplomat, led me to think that perhaps Annie had settled with Dan at such a young age because his character was one of stability and safeness.  So to be honest, I really didn’t know which life Annie would choose, her home or parallel world.  I loved the fact that I couldn’t make up my mind, that I kept guessing one way and then the next.  The subplot also surprised me.  I hadn’t seen that coming until it was there in black and white! 
Being a romantic at heart …………….  I loved the ‘meet me at the moon’.  The symbol of the moon in the Western world of fluctuating emotions, nurturing and finding a stable home to express those emotions, is such a fitting ‘catchphrase’ to have as part of the story and the timing of its appearance was spot on.
As a chicklit novel, Claudia Carroll has crafted a story that ticks all the boxes.  It’s easy to read and will keep you entertained.


12 June 2011 – since posting my review there has been a reader disenchanted with one of Claudia Carroll’s previous novels (see comments on this blog).  I haven’t read any of the author’s previous works so am only able to review what I have read in ‘Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow?

Find out more about Claudia Carroll at her website.  Read her author interview on Chick Lit Reviews.  You can also find her on Twitter @CarrollClaudia  

Thank you to the Avon team in London, commercial fiction imprint at HarperCollinsUK.  You can find them on Twitter @AvonBooksUK and website HarperCollins.

http://rcm-uk.amazon.co.uk/e/cm?t=jersjam-21&o=2&p=8&l=as1&asins=1847562108&ref=tf_til&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&m=amazon&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr

2 thoughts on “Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow? by Claudia Carroll

  1. Hi

    I found your blog while searching for info on this author and I'm pleased I did nice blog but the author not so much…

    I brought a Carroll book because it was on offer and I enjoyed it at first but after a couple of chapters I just started counting the jokes, characters and lines lifted straight from Sex and the City, Friends and Bridget Jones. Seriously I don't know how she gets away with this blatant plagiarism. I won't buy her books again and I think people should know.

    Sorry for such a negative comment I do like the blog though xxx

  2. Hi Charlee,

    I have published your comment because I think it's fair that everyone has an opportunity to voice their opinion.

    No need to apologise for a negative comment.

    Thanks for liking my blog – much appreciated!
    Sharon

JJ always welcomes comments. Let us know what you think!

